mIRC Homepage

Specified DCC Ports..

Posted By: ChosenOne

Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 03:28 PM

mIRC does not use the specified DCC-Ports.
I set mIRC to use all ports from 2121 to 2122 (First: 2121 - Last: 2122). Sometimes DCC Send did not work (although my router forwareds 2121 and 2122 to my PC). That's the reason I enabled /debug before trying to send the file.
mIRC often wanted to use Port 2123 then.
I think it's a bug isn't it? In my opinion 2123 is not between 2121 and 2122 wink
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 03:40 PM

Actually, I believe mIRC just uses that port range as a primary, so if it can't find an open port within that range, it will use the first available port outside the specified range.

Also, you should specify more than just two ports.
What if neither of those ports are available when you try to use DCC? It's only logical that mIRC will find another port to use rather than fail.
Posted By: ChosenOne

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 06:49 PM

I am sure that these ports were free.
I don't think that I will ever need more than two DCC-Connection.
So why should I specify more than these wink
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 07:07 PM

When I said "What if neither of those ports are available"
I meant, what if they're being used by another application?
It is possible, very possible .. this is why you need to specify more than two ports. If you don't want to, that's fine .. it's all up to you. Just trying to spare you some future headaches. wink
Posted By: ChosenOne

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 07:11 PM

Quote:
It is possible, very possible

I wouldn't post here, if the ports were in use by another application. They were FREE and avaiable.

<sarcasm>Now pls stop filling my Thread with senseless [censored]</sarcasm>
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 08:02 PM

lol .. Just because it's not what you want to hear, that doesn't make it senseless. It's only confusing to the easily confused.
Posted By: Raccoon

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 24/09/03 11:07 PM

Note that it takes up to 2 minutes for a socket to "cool down", before it can be re-used.

For more diagnostics, check out TCPView from www.sysinternals.com, a truly handy free tool.
Posted By: ChosenOne

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 12:24 PM

Thanks for the Hint. But $portfree's integrity isn't affected by that 2min delay, is it?
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 12:26 PM

If specified port is not available (for whatever reason) it would return $false.
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 03:00 PM

Edit for my last reply (edit time ran out)

//echo -a $portfree(999999999999999999999999999999999)

Wonder why it returns $true for a port that doesn't exist when it should be $null .. I guess if it doesn't exist, it's not in use.
Posted By: pheonix

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 03:03 PM

yeah i tried:
//echo -a $portfree($str(9,150))
it returned $true :tongue:
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 03:08 PM

Upon searching $portfree I found this.
Posted By: pheonix

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 03:12 PM

ah smile.
imo, that should be added to the help file.
Posted By: r0ck0

Re: Specified DCC Ports.. - 25/09/03 03:20 PM

Before it even checks port status, the identifier should first just check to see if N is in the range of 1-65535, if not then it should just return $null without even checking port status. $true (exists & free) $false (exists but unavailable) $null (doesn't exist)
© 2022 mIRC Discussion Forums