mIRC Homepage

bug related to /timers

Posted By: FIQ

bug related to /timers - 19/01/11 05:43 PM

Hi.
Just tried to stop some timers I've started (using "/timers off"), but there was one problem. They just didn't stop.

After some investigation, I found the reason. The multi-server function of the command doesn't seem to work properly. If i just do "/timers", I see all timers, on every server, but I can't stop timers started from other networks.

And also, note that /timers isn't an index of the help file (/help /timers), but it is documented in /timer.

/FIQ
Posted By: 5618

Re: bug related to /timers - 19/01/11 06:21 PM

I think this falls under the header Undocumented Behaviour.
How would you stop timers for only the active server if it did stop timers globally?
You should probably use: /scon -a timers off
Posted By: jaytea

Re: bug related to /timers - 19/01/11 07:11 PM

you can also use /timer* off to stop all timers across all networks.
Posted By: Riamus2

Re: bug related to /timers - 19/01/11 09:27 PM

Although not really documented very well, /timers is for the active connection, so /timers off is going to only affect the active connection. I'd use the /timer* off method that was suggested as that's a good way to cover everything. In case you are wondering why that's not documented, it kind of is... /timertest off will turn off a timer with the name of test. Because * is a wildcard meaning everything, /timer* off would turn everything off.
Posted By: FIQ

Re: bug related to /timers - 02/02/11 07:11 PM

That might be true. Still, /timers isn't completly server-specific - if you use /timers w/o parameters, it will display timers on all networks. That was why i though it was supposed to stop all timers _in all networks_. But yeah, i know /timer* does the same thing. smile
Posted By: Riamus2

Re: bug related to /timers - 02/02/11 09:27 PM

You're right. I'm not sure why I was thinking /timers was network specific. Sorry for the confusion.
Posted By: The_JD

Re: bug related to /timers - 11/02/11 01:46 AM

Originally Posted By: Riamus2
You're right. I'm not sure why I was thinking /timers was network specific. Sorry for the confusion.


Probably because when you activate a timer, it attaches to that server (window) by default.
Posted By: BenderUnit

Re: bug related to /timers - 12/02/11 11:54 AM

Originally Posted By: FIQ
if you use /timers w/o parameters, it will display timers on all networks.
Originally Posted By: Riamus2
You're right. I'm not sure why I was thinking /timers was network specific. Sorry for the confusion.
That's weird, when I do /timers it does NOT list all the timers of all networks, nor does /timer* do that. So the /timers listing IS (for me) still network specific.

Originally Posted By: The_JD
Probably because when you activate a timer, it attaches to that server (window) by default.
That, I can confirm.
© 2020 mIRC Discussion Forums