mIRC Homepage
Posted By: digitok Switchbar Button Grouping - 12/06/08 07:55 AM
Hi,

There is a post with this exact same bug issue located here: BhaaL's post

I thought I should make a new thread so that it's more noticeable.

I'm experiencing the EXACT same bug as in that post, and I have a couple screenshots here.. I managed to reproduce this bug on a COMPLETELY blank copy of mIRC 6.32. The only thing that isn't default is the code which I will also provide.

Screenshot: mirc632_bug.png

Code:
Code:
alias bugtest {
  showmirc -t
  server irc.dal.net
  server -m irc.efnet.net
  server -m irc.swiftirc.net
}
on *:connect: {
  if ($network == DALnet) {
    join #mIRC-Alpha1
    join #mIRC-Alpha2
    join #mIRC-Alpha3
    join #mIRC-Alpha4
    join #mIRC-Alpha5
  }
  elseif ($network == EFNet) {
    join #mIRC-Alpha1
    join #mIRC-Alpha2
    join #mIRC-Alpha3
    join #mIRC-Alpha4
    join #mIRC-Alpha5
  }
  elseif ($network == SwiftIRC) {
    join #mIRC-Alpha1
    join #mIRC-Alpha2
    join #mIRC-Alpha3
    join #mIRC-Alpha4
    join #mIRC-Alpha5
  }
}


Now, the reason I made the code so crappy and long is because I didn't know if this produced the same bug by using "server -m foo -j #bar" so I tested with something that's close to what I'm using at the moment.

Also, I don't know if the "showmirc -t" makes a difference but I added that in because I've only ever experienced this bug whilst mIRC wasn't the active window.

I've NEVER experienced this bug whilst using mIRC 6.31 so that is the reason why I have brought this up as being a "bug".

Regards,
Dan
Posted By: digitok Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 20/06/08 08:28 AM
Anybody??
Posted By: symphony Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 20/06/08 10:29 AM
I can't reproduce it.
Posted By: argv0 Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 20/06/08 01:29 PM
I'm sure Khaled has seen this issue. Hopefully he's looking into it. I can't personally reproduce it but the screenshots speak for themselves, so at this point you'll just have to wait a bit and see what Khaled comes up with.
Posted By: Riamus2 Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 21/06/08 04:14 PM
Just as a note, one of the people in Invision's channel also has experienced this.
Posted By: symphony Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 21/06/08 08:02 PM
Hmm, why am I unable to reproduce this?
I have tried so many times to do it, clean mIRC... weird.
Posted By: argv0 Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 21/06/08 08:48 PM
Probably because it relies on the switchbar being on the left side rather than the bottom, as the only screenshots I've seen have had that setup. Did you try to reproduce with the switchbar on the left or on the bottom?

edit: I've personally been unable to reproduce this as well, with the switchbar on the side. Vista Ultimate x32.
Posted By: argv0 Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 21/06/08 08:54 PM
What happens if you move your switchbar to the bottom *after* you get the bugged behaviour? Does that correct the ordering?

This might also be os specific.. what OS are you using?
Posted By: digitok Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 22/06/08 12:29 AM
Ok I managed to reproduce it and AFTER I got the bug I moved the switchbar to the bottom, which yielded the following result (still bugged): mirc632_bug-2.png

I'm using WinXP Pro, SP3

EDIT: I also tried it with the switchbar STARTING on the bottom, and got the exact same result as in the screenshot above.

Dan
Posted By: Khaled Re: Switchbar Button Grouping - 26/06/08 03:28 PM
Thanks I've fixed this issue for the next version. It was due to a v6.32 change in the way the window list is sorted and only affects the switchbar display. It's difficult to reproduce because it's down to the timing of when windows open relative to each other.
© mIRC Discussion Forums