mIRC Homepage

$input bug

Posted By: psycogod

$input bug - 10/06/04 12:34 AM

the a switch for the $input identifier does not work, it still uses the main mirc window for the parent, instead of the dialog. To see what i mean, load the code below into remotes and type "/dialog -m test test". the click on the dialog. Then click the main mirc window.

Code:
dialog test {
  option dbu
  size -1 -1 90 30
  button "test",1,5 5 80 20
}

on *:dialog:test:sclick:1:{
  var %t = $input(Does this work,a)
}


i am using WinXP Pro SP1 with mIRC 6.15
Posted By: xxxYODAxxx

Re: $input bug - 10/06/04 12:54 AM

If you mean it wont let you click on anything untill you close the "prompt" that is how it works it is waiting for input and wont do anything else untill it recieves it.
from help file:

a - activate dialog

Note: This identifier cannot be used in a script event. One way around this is to use a /timer to initiate an input request after the script ends.

-unless my understanding is wrong.. seems to be working fine for me.

winXP - v6.15
Posted By: psycogod

Re: $input bug - 10/06/04 01:05 AM

the $input (test button) dialog in this script should act like that modal dialog (test2 button) but it doesn't. instead it uses mirc main window as the parent, when it should be using the dialog as the parent.
Code:
dialog test {
  size -1 -1 90 55
  button "test",1,5 5 80 20
  button "test2",2,5 30 80 20
}

dialog test2 {
  size -1 -1 90 30
}

on *:dialog:test:sclick:1:{
  var %t = $input(Does this work,a)
}

on *:dialog:test:sclick:2:{
  var %t = $dialog(test2,test2,-4)
}


you don't need a timer to use $input from a dialog, start, or exit event, but you need it to use $input from text, notice, input, action, and other events
Posted By: tidy_trax

Re: $input bug - 10/06/04 03:00 PM

The a parameter makes the input dialog the active window (i think), rather than a normal dialog.
Posted By: Khaled

Re: $input bug - 10/06/04 05:14 PM

The 'a' switch is used to make the $input() dialog active if mIRC is not the active application.

$input() does not have a switch that makes it use a custom dialog as a parent window. I may add that for the next version.
Posted By: Online

Re: $input bug - 10/06/04 06:06 PM

Thanks laugh

And please disregard my previous suggestion of adding dialog support to the existing s switch. I didn't realize that it can collide with desktop query windows.
Posted By: psycogod

Re: $input bug - 12/06/04 02:56 PM

I guess i just misunderstood the help file. Thanks
© 2022 mIRC Discussion Forums