mIRC Homepage
Posted By: BNX Source protection - 30/08/05 04:50 PM
I am making a multiplayer game and I need to prevent cheating (by altering source code).
Since there is no way (that I know of) to hide/encrypt my script source, would it be possible to save scripts to an online server and have the user open a socket and connect the script online, and import it to use temporarily?
I have no real experience with sockets, I have only made a couple in that past with help from tutorials but I don't know exactly what they are capable of. Is it possible to pass a script (about 1100 lines)?

I don't need a whole script, I can do that on my own... but just an idea of how it could work.
Posted By: Riamus2 Re: Source protection - 30/08/05 04:58 PM
Well, the best way to run a multiplayer game is probably to use a bot as a server and the bot handles all calculations and data so that no one can really cheat.

If you don't want a bot, you can use sockets to post and retrieve data from the site, but I think someone could very easily edit how that works so they could still cheat.

You might consider making a DLL to handle all the calculations and other "sensitive" code instead.
Posted By: BNX Re: Source protection - 30/08/05 05:23 PM
Thanks.

I don't really want to use my bot since the game is sort of fast paced and will probably get my bot killed from the server for flooding.

I was thinking of somehow encrypting pieces of the source to make things complicated for the user.
Like instead of

%v

I could do
% $+ $chr( $+ %varbit1 $+ )

//set %varbit1 $calc((50/5)*10+(10-5)+13)

%varbit1 would return 118, this making % $+ $chr(118) or %v

But this would make things complicated for me as well, so I don't think its very efficient for something I will be working on continuously. :tongue:

I would do a .dll but I don't know enough about dll in c++ yet.
Posted By: Riamus2 Re: Source protection - 30/08/05 06:53 PM