mIRC Homepage
Posted By: Xealot How does mirc create irc:// in iexplore? - 17/02/03 02:03 PM
Hi ppl,
im a programmer which have long wondered how
mirc made irc//<irc server> to work in iexplore.
Like if i type
<a href="irc://de.quakenet.org" target="_blank">irc://de.quakenet.org</a>
it will open mirc.exe and connect to de.quakenet.org
i wanna know how smirk
Posted By: Om3gA Re: How does mirc create irc:// in iexplore? - 17/02/03 02:53 PM
its the same basic concept as a hyperlink or and email link that opens another program, the irc:// prefix is simply associated with mIRC more then likly via a small reg entry or something along those lines wink
Posted By: Phant0m Re: How does mirc create irc:// in iexplore? - 17/02/03 04:32 PM
Om3gA is correct the IRC Protocol along with other URL: * Protocols are Entries in the Registry, you can be capable of creating these Entries by going to Tools\Folder Options… and selecting “File Types” tab, or making an .reg file to import.

Here’s Informatics about mIRC’s IRC Protocol;

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc]
@="URL:IRC Protocol"
"EditFlags"=dword:00000002
"URL Protocol"=""
"BrowserFlags"=dword:00000008

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\DefaultIcon]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\mIRC\\mirc.exe\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell]
@=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\mIRC\\mirc.exe\" -noconnect %1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell\open\ddeexec]
@="%1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell\open\ddeexec\Application]
@="mIRC"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell\open\ddeexec\IfExec]
@="%1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\irc\Shell\open\ddeexec\Topic]
@="Connect"
Posted By: Online Re: How does mirc create irc:// in iexplore? - 18/02/03 01:58 AM
Check this tutorial.
Posted By: _D3m0n_ Re: How does mirc create irc:// in iexplore? - 18/02/03 04:57 AM
excellant reply to that .... where did u find that info if u dont mind me asking?
Posted By: Phant0m Re: How does mirc create irc:// in iexplore? - 18/02/03 05:04 AM