mIRC Homepage
Posted By: andymps Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 12:23 AM
alias anmp3 {
if ($insong == $true) { splay stop }
if (%mp3dir == $null) { echo -a 4,1Devils Mp3,8 Dir not set }
else {devilsmp3)
var %Devilmp3 = 4,1Devils Mp3,8! $+ $me $remove($nopath($insong.fname),.mp3) 12Is -->9 $len Long
msg # %Devilmp3
.ctcp # MP3 $nopath($insong.fname)
halt
}
alias devilsmp3 {
set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp?,0)
set %r2 $rand(1,%r1)
set %mp31 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp?,%r2)
set %mp32 $nopath(%mp31) | set %mp32 $remove(%mp32,.mp3)
splay %mp31
}

them aliases randomise my mp3's, but some wont play for a reason that is unknown to me, i need to in there put a line that stops it from msging the chanel if the mp3 cant play, can anyone help
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:13 AM
or even better can somoene tell me why it wont play the mp3's
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:30 AM
I had the exact same problem. It's this bit.
Code:
set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp?,0)

That script randomizes mp? files in your mp3 directory so it could try and play an mpg file or mpeg. Change the question mark to the number 3.
Like this.
Code:
set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,0)


It worked for me. grin
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:33 AM
ok done that but some wont play, such as this one * /splay: unable to play 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\Sounds\wierd al - Truck Drivin' Song.mp3'
? ? ? confused
Posted By: KingTomato Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:34 AM
is there two consecutive spaces in the filename?
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:35 AM
nope
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:47 AM
Try typing /splay C:\Program Files\mIRC\Sounds\wierd al - Truck Drivin' Song.mp3 in your mIRC if it plays then there is an error in the code somewhere, if it still don't play there must be something wrong with the song. Maybe try re-downloading it?
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:48 AM
hmmm it wont play, but it used to, b 4 i went more complicated with my mp3 script it worked fine
Posted By: naki Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:54 AM
well if /splay didnt work then it isnt the script. It is the filename or mp3. Open Winamp or WMP and play the song there. If it works then look at the file name and see if it has more then two spaces in between each word, if so make it once space.
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 01:54 AM
One way to find out is use a fresh mIRC with nothing in it, and try playing it through there?

(Or just do what Naki suggested) grin
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 02:19 AM
ok, they work with WMP have no more than one space, and i even went back and removed all the spaces from that file name and it still ownt play them for some reason
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 02:22 AM
Did it work in a fresh mIRC?
Posted By: lammkott Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 02:27 AM
Try putting the filename in quotes.

/splay "c:\.....\file - name.mp3"
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 02:33 AM
tried that still the same,
also i found another problem, i installed a fesh mirc and i get this: * /splay: invalid parameters (line 19, mp3.mrc.txt)
line 19 is this bit
alias devilsmp3 {
set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,0)
set %r2 $rand(1,%r1)
set %mp31 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,%r2)
set %mp32 $nopath(%mp31) | set %mp32 $remove(%mp32,.mp3)
splay %mp31
}
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:17 AM
Try
Code:
alias devilsmp3  {
  set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,0)
  set %r2 $rand(1,%r1)  
  set %mp3 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,%r2))    
  splay %mp3
}
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:39 AM
ok, it is still the same, except now it is line 18 but still the splay bit
but what i cant work out is why it works on the one and not the other
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:42 AM
and line 18 is ..?
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:44 AM
splay %mp3
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:49 AM
As it works on the fresh mIRC, why don't you transfer all your work from the old one to the new one? Atleast then you'll know it all works etc. grin
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:51 AM
it doesnt work on the fresh one that is the one that wont work
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:54 AM
Oh, well have it all on the old one then.
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 04:03 AM
ok then :tongue:
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 04:05 AM
It would make sense as you wanted it to work and it works on the old one so the problem is solved in a way. grin
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 04:11 AM
yes in a way but i still have the old problem of the not playing mp3's
Posted By: Alrac Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 07:14 AM
this is your problem...
else {devilsmp3)
change it to
else {
devilsmp3
Posted By: SladeKraven Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 08:49 AM
Ohhh, nice one Alrac dude. Didn't notice that mishap. shocked
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 08/07/03 03:04 PM
ok, but it still wont play some of them
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 12:03 AM
ok so no one knows how to make em play, so does anyone know how i can stop it msging the channel, which comes like this:
* /splay: unable to play 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\Sounds\wierd al - Truck Drivin' Song.mp3'
«01:07:50» <Da^Devil> Devils Mp3,!Da^Devil Is --> 0:00 Long
also it does the ctcp bit but i want it to echo error or some thing and not msg the channel
Code:
alias devilsmp3 {
  set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,0)
  set %r2 $rand(1,%r1)
  set %mp31 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp3,%r2)
  set %mp32 $nopath(%mp31) | set %mp32 $remove(%mp32,.mp3)
  splay %mp31
}

+

alias anmp3 {
  if ($insong == $true) { splay stop }
  if (%mp3dir == $null) { echo -a 4,1Devils Mp3,8 Dir not set }
  else { devilsmp3 }
  var %Devilmp3 = 4,1Devils Mp3,8! $+ $me $remove($nopath($insong.fname),.mp3) 12Is --&gt;9 $len Long
  msg # %Devilmp3
  .ctcp # MP3 $nopath($insong.fname)
  halt
}

those deal with the randomising of my mp3s,
Posted By: Cassius Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 12:22 AM
ok, I posted about a similar problem in the Bugs forum like a month ago, and got pretty much the same diagnostic questions, all of which I had already gone over myself.

Check those mp3's that aren't playing. I'm willing to bet that they're at a bitrate of 320kbit, probably 44.1KHz Joint Stereo.

Same exact problem I was having, except the mp3 script I was working on wasn't producing that particular error.

the /splay error, I mean. It just wouldn't play them in mine, period. *shrugs*

They work in both WinAmp and in WMP. *shrugs* Just not between mIRC, and WinAmp or WMP.
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 12:27 AM
ok, they rnt 320kbit, or 44.1KHz Joint Stereo.
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 06:28 AM
ok, if i put:
alias anmp3 {
if ($insong == $true) { splay stop }
if (%mp3dir == $null) { echo -a 4,1Devils Mp3,8 Dir not set }
else { devilsmp3 }
if ($insong == $true) {
var %Devilmp3 = 4,1Devils Mp3,8! $+ $me $remove($nopath($insong.fname),.mp3) 12Is -->9 $len Long
msg # %Devilmp3
.ctcp # MP3 $nopath($insong.fname)
halt
}
}

alias devilsmp3 {
set %r1 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp?,0)
set %r2 $rand(1,%r1)
set %mp31 $findfile(%mp3dir,*.mp?,%r2)
set %mp32 $nopath(%mp31) | set %mp32 $remove(%mp32,.mp3)
splay %mp31
}
will that stop the msg going to the chan?(the red bit)
Posted By: Narusegawa_Naru Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 10:53 AM
It doesnt have to be 320kbs I think the actual limit for mirc (since it uses mci) is 190kbs. Anything above that will produce the errors. (Note it may not be 190kbs for the limit but its near there)

Ive had 2 problems (as with anyone else playing mp3's) It either gives the "cannot find file blah" error or it doesnt play at all. There is no way to correct this and there is no way to halt the error message.

Ive made mention of the try catch onerr methods to be implemented but who knows.
Posted By: naki Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 05:49 PM
There is no bitrate limit for mIRC... All my mp3's were ripped at 320kbps and mIRC will play every single one of them.
Posted By: Narusegawa_Naru Re: Non playing mp3's - 09/07/03 10:22 PM
/splay is realized internal using mciSendString and mciSendCommand wich according to microsoft has had known issues with higher bitrate files. They may work but often times they may not

Note it may also be the app that you used to rip it i use audiocatalyst wich also produces some bad mp3's once in a while. as for the message i know of no way to halt it. i would suggest the TRY CATCH etc.. in the suggestion board but i think it has been suggested i just cant find it in search
Posted By: Hammer Re: Non playing mp3's - 10/07/03 03:32 PM
Try: .splay $+(",%mp31,")
Posted By: andymps Re: Non playing mp3's - 10/07/03 03:38 PM
It worked thanx hammer
© mIRC Discussion Forums