mIRC Homepage
Posted By: FloydTheDuck Time left 'til event - script - 26/10/12 08:38 PM
I need help making a script. I'm new to the IRC language so any help is appreciated. I've tried looking online but can't figure out how to get it to work right.

Let's say an event occurs every 3 minutes. At 12:00, 12:03, 12:06, and so on recurring.

Basically what I would like is to be able to type

!timeleft
and have it say "1 min and 32 seconds until event"

or
!timealert
and have it say "I'll let you know when it's 15 seconds away" then "%name get ready, it's going to happen in 15 seconds"

I think it works with /timer and $timer... I've looked in the help section but have only figured out a way to automatically notify every 3 minutes. I don't want it to do it no matter what, only if someone says "!timeleft" I want it to tell them, and !timealert to alert them... so almost like it runs in the background unless requested, then it will actually /say that one time.

Thanks in advance. Hope this makes sense.
Floyd
Posted By: Loki12583 Re: Time left 'til event - script - 26/10/12 09:27 PM
Are you the one actually running the timer for these recurring events? If you are the solution is much simpler, you just check $timer().secs.

If you are not running the timer for these events and merely want to calculate values for people, this will do it:

Code:
on *:text:!timeleft:#:{
  var %timeleft = $timeleft($ctime(October 26 2012 17:00:00), 180)
  if (%timeleft isnum 0-) msg # $duration%timeleft) until event
}

on *:text:!timealert:#:{
  var %timeleft = $timeleft($ctime(October 26 2012 17:00:00), 180)
  var %offset = 15, %msgtime = $calc(%timeleft - %offset)
  if (%msgtime isnum 0-) .timer 1 %msgtime msg $safe(# $nick) get ready, it's going to happen in $duration(%offset)
}

alias timeleft {
  var %start = $1, %interval = $2, %timeleft

if ($ctime <= %start) || (!%interval) { %timeleft = $calc(%start - $ctime) }
  else { %timeleft = $calc(%interval - ($ctime - %start) % %interval) }