mIRC Homepage
Posted By: Parkhead A complete novice needs help - 25/02/08 02:19 AM
Allow me explain what I'm after and then you good people of this community can decide whether or not you want to help me.

I have mirc running practically 24 hours a day, well whenever I'm sat at the computer anyway but very often the window is closed down to the taskbar while I'm working on other things so I invariably miss messages when people are trying to get hold of me. I've heard it's possible to have an alert whenever your nickname is used within a channel or even channels if you're running more than one at a time but I don't know how to set this up. The other problem I have is that I can only operate anything on the computer using voice recognition software because I'm paralysed from the neck down. I think this would probably prevent me from writing my own scripts even if I knew how to do it because I wouldn't be able to instruct the voice software sufficiently competently to do it.

Is there any kind soul out there who could come up with such a script so that I could just copy and paste it into mirc. Because I really don't know what I'm doing you would need to give me instructions on where to put it in order to make it run. I realise this is a really big ask but I'm hoping that someone will fancy taking on the challenge and helping me to get this feature into my mirc.

I will thank you now for any help and assistance you can afford me. regards, Parkhead (required nickname)
Posted By: jakerandall Re: A complete novice needs help - 25/02/08 02:42 AM
Ok i understand what you mean, i just made a 2 simple scripts for you.
Code:
on *:OPEN:?:*:{ .timer $+ $cid $+ $nick 1 480 msg $nick Hi  $nick $+ , It looks like I haven't replied to you yet, I might be slightly busy or just away, Please continue to wait patiently for me to come back }
on *:INPUT:?:{ .timer $+ $cid $+ $active off }