mIRC Homepage
Posted By: xcitu Auto-join - 05/11/07 04:25 AM
Hi!
I've just downloaded the latest version of mIRC, and it has been a while since I've used it.

When I am online on mIRC, I stay on several servers at the time, and in all different channels. What I've done so far is that I join the servers manually, "/server irc.servername.com", but it has become to stressful to do this every time I logon.

So now I wonder if there is a script that allows me to join several servers at the time?

So far I got this:
Code:
on 1:START: { server irc.homelien.no | server -m irc.quakenet.org }

on 1:connect: {
if ($network == EFnet) { nick TNG|Lap | join #itavisen | join #itchatten }
if ($network == Quakenet) { nick xcitu | msg Q@CServe.quakenet.org AUTH TingTing ****** | MODE TingTing +x | join #SoR }
}

This allows me to automaticly join 1 server, and it's channels, when I connect to mIRC.


So is there a script that allows me to join several servers at the time? If yes, can you post it here and explain short how to use it? If this is the script I must have, then what do I gotta do to make it join several servers at the time when I logon?

Thankful for every helping answear.

- X
Posted By: Bekar Re: Auto-join - 05/11/07 05:24 AM
You've got the basics of it already. Just expand upon it.

As for if someone's already written an all-encompassing script to handle it all? Probably, you'll just need to search around.

Now, to make things easier, lets have a quick look into the /server command, and what it can do:

Code:
server irc.homelien.no -i TNG|Lap -j #itavisen,#itchatten

This removes the necessity of having the '$network' check in the ON CONNECT event for EFNet.

You can use this same method to connect to multiple servers with specific nicks at ON START.

That being said, if your QuakeNet channels require you to be AUTH'd before you can join the channel, this method won't work for joining a channel.
Posted By: xcitu Re: Auto-join - 05/11/07 06:54 AM
First of all thanx for replying smile
Now I wanna ask if you can post a complete example where I autojoin 2 servers?
Like post the code for joining 2 servers. Even though I got the basic's it's kinda hard to figure out to do it 100% because I haven't used mIRC in a very long time.
Back when I used I scriptet my own bots, but now I almost doesn't remember anything.

It would be extremly helpful if you could help me out here too smile

Thanx again smile

- X
Posted By: Bekar Re: Auto-join - 05/11/07 07:24 AM
Well, how about I show you what I use:

Code:
ON *:START: {
  .signal maketitle
  .server irc.easynews.com -j #mIRC
  .server -m ruiner.darker.net
  .server -m irc.rizon.net 
  .server -m irc.irchighway.net
  .server -m irc.chatspike.net
}
ON *:CONNECT: {
  if (($network == rizon) || ($network == irchighway) || ($network == chatspike) || ($network == darkernet)) && ($me == $mnick) {
    .msg nickserv identify <password>
    if ($network == rizon) {
      mode $me -x
      .timer 1 10 .join -n #channel0,#channel1,#channel2,#channel3
      .timer 1 11 .join -n #channel4,#channel5,#channel6,#channel7
      .join -n #chanel8,#channel9,#channel10
    }
    elseif ($network == irchighway) {
      .timer 1 5 .mode $me -r
      .join -n #channel0,#channel1,#channel2,#channel3,#channel4,#channel5,#channel6,#channel7,#channel8
      .timer 1 30 .join -n #channel9,#channel10,#channel11,#channel12,#channel13,#channel14,#channel15,#channel16,#channel17,#channel18
    }
    elseif ( $network == chatspike) {
      .join -n #channel0
    }
  }
}


As I join alot of channels, some of which require I be AUTH'd first, I use this method. The timers are so I don't get flooded off every time I re-connect with the RPL_NAMES that always comes down (some 5,000+ names come down at re-connect, that populate the nicklists).

As I only use one nick, I can get away without using /server's -i flag.

I also use this method as I only want the one channel opened up (EFNet's #mIRC), with the rest minimised out of view, other than the right-side switch bar I use.
Posted By: OrionsBelt Re: Auto-join - 05/11/07 07:39 PM
Lo Bekar,

Out of curiousity, what does the ".signal maketitle" do?

Thx smile
Posted By: Bekar Re: Auto-join - 05/11/07 10:36 PM
It fills my titlebar up.. wink See here.

Simple concept, that can be called from anywhere.
Posted By: OrionsBelt Re: Auto-join - 06/11/07 07:18 AM
Looks interesting, will give that a try.

Thanks a lot laugh
Posted By: Eistee Re: Auto-join - 09/11/07 05:52 AM
sometimes ago i wrote the script aCONNECT
http://www.mircscripts.org/comments.php?cid=2055

aCONNECT v2.0 by Eistee
=========================

aCONNECT is a mIRC 6.14 (tested) addon with which one you
can connect to IRC Servers trough the use of presets.
You can preset your Nickname, Perform, Firewall and Channels that
you want to join and also chose to automatically connect to
multiple servers on mIRC's startup. The presets are anytime
accessible through the Status window or the Menu list.
With this addon in my opinion mIRC's Multi-Server features
make really sense now.

I'm also suggest you to use my advIDENTd addon with which one
you can setup different IDENTd replys for different Servers.
Download here: http://www.mircscripts.org/comments.php?id=1884
Posted By: Stephr0x0rs Re: Auto-join - 14/11/07 07:27 AM
I just tried this and once I added it to my remotes, it started a looping process of connecting me to the servers even though I'm already connected. o_O It's not supposed to do that, is it?

This is what I'm using:

ON *:START: {
.server irc.private.server
.server -m irc.rizon.net
}
Posted By: Lpfix5 Re: Auto-join - 14/11/07 05:30 PM
No it isn't both servers should be only executed once on start
Posted By: Stephr0x0rs Re: Auto-join - 14/11/07 10:50 PM
Originally Posted By: Lpfix5
No it isn't both servers should be only executed once on start

I exited mIRC and started it back up and everything seems to be working as expected. smile
Posted By: dazou Re: Auto-join - 17/11/07 10:20 AM
Thanks for this script bekar !
I trying to modify it to also connect to a proxy server, but it's not working ...
Here's what i've done:
Code:
ON *:START: {
  .server irc.rizon.net
  .server -m debbie:57000
}

ON *:CONNECT: {
  if (($network == rizon) || ($network == darkernet)) && ($me == $mnick) {
    .msg nickserv identify "password"
    if ($network == rizon) {
      mode $me -x
      .join -n #channel1,#channel2
    }
  }
  elseif ($network == local) {
    .echo "connecting to proxy"
    .timer 1 10 .raw pass "mypass"
  }
}


I've added to mirc's server list a server called debbie (my proxy machine name) under a group called local

when Mirc start, it connects to the 1st server, then to the proxy, but dont process the .echo or .raw (needed to auth on the proxy...)
Although, in the proxy server status windows, typing //echo $network returns "local" (wich is good)
and typing /raw pass "mypass" manualy works
Did I do something wrong ?

© mIRC Discussion Forums