mIRC Homepage
Posted By: gomp Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 02:40 PM
Not sure if right forum, but I wonder about this:

I learned that one instead of typing: /server irc.server.org and then when connected; type /joine (/j) #chan

One could just type:

/server irc.server.org -j #chan

..

Now, In popups.ini, under [cpopup], I got these lines:

n5=Clear window:/clear
n6=Topic:topic $chan

I tested with, /clear -topic $chan, to see if that would cut it down to only one click rather than the two I do now, when I /clear, and then /topic #chan. (using the popup menu, and mouse.) Side note: [I am online 24/7 and /clear the channel, form the day before, when I sit down at the computer again.]

So that I could have one line, clearing, and then loading topic..

Anyone know if this is even possible, and how if so it is done?

Thank you for helping! (and sorry if I am hard to understand, I want to keep it simple) smile

laugh
Posted By: bwr30060 Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 03:06 PM
Code:
Set Topic: { clear | topic $chan your topic here }


or, to keep it more readable,
Code:
Set Topic: {
clear
topic $chan $$?
}
Posted By: gomp Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 04:10 PM
(Please ignore this, if you are not the one I reply to, and just focus on the first post. as this seem to be another on of them missunderstandings .. )

Quote:
Code:
Set Topic: { clear | topic $chan your topic here }


or, to keep it more readable,
Code:
Set Topic: {
clear
topic $chan $$?
}


I do not want it to set topic..

The topic is already set in the channel..

I wish for it to /clear the channel, and "re-load" (using /topic #channel ..) Edit rather using; topic $chan as I am using popups.ini * (the popup meny, and mouse click)

in one "action" ..

Please reread the first post, and/or tell me what I am saying wrong?

confused
Posted By: CtrlAltDel Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 04:22 PM
Clear Window: clear | topic $chan

is that what you're wanting?
Posted By: gomp Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 04:27 PM
On the side note..

As mentioned I am online 24/7 ..

the computer just stand here, online, all day, all night, and restart when needed..

Then all channles are full of messages, and such things.

So, I clear the window, (clicking on a scripted /clear, in the popup meny) ..

Then I click on "Topic" which is scripted in the popup.ini, as mentioned in the first post.
To get a topic, in the channel, just like if I had just entered the channel, ..

Now, what I am asking for, is a way to perfor that action, in one click, rather than two..

So, I could wake up in the morning, and/or if it has been spamming in the channel, etcetera; could just click the "clear&topic" line I would then have in the popup meny, replasing the /clear and the "topic", as one action, instead of those two..

laugh
Posted By: gomp Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 04:29 PM
Quote:
Clear Window: clear | echo # $chan($chan).topic

is that what you're wanting?


That looks like what I am after, yes! laugh

But, I am a total newb, I will go test now, but not sure how to use it.


confused


I put it in popup.ini ..

it kind of worked..

BUT

test:

[18:30:59] * Topic is ' ♥♫ http://www.flickr.com/groups/appleporn/ ♩♥♬♫♩♪♩'
[18:30:59] * Set by [] on Tue Jun 13 20:44:09


became:

♥♫ http://www.flickr.com/groups/appleporn/ ♩♥♬♫♩♪♩


But getting closer now!

Thank you! grin
Posted By: CtrlAltDel Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 04:35 PM
I just edited it to do what you explained ..

hold the alt key and type P .. select view .. channel .. find the Clear window and Topic popups, and replace them with this one (or rename this one and add it under or above them)
Posted By: gomp Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 04:43 PM
Yes!


Thank you so much!


All I needed was the ' | '

SO funny, this opens a whole new world of scripting possibilites!

THANK you EVER so much!

grin Love!

Edit Just so it is said.

I opened the popups.ini ..

then in there, I added, (under [cpopup])

n4=Clear&Topic:clear | topic $chan

(replsing an odl one)

I guess I am doing it some wrong way around, or soemthing, but now iot works perfect!

Thank you ever so much! Really ! smile

simply fies my life a whole lot. smile hehe
Posted By: bwr30060 Re: Performing two commans, in one line. - 17/06/06 06:20 PM
You don't even need the |. It sometimes makes the script harder to read. If you want a popup to do multiple things, you can use the brackets and type each command on separate lines. Here's an example.
Code:
Multi Line: {
echo My name is $me
describe $chan waves.
}

This would be a popup that would execute both of those lines when you run it, and it doesn't need to use the |. Hope that helps.
© mIRC Discussion Forums