mIRC Homepage
Posted By: Xeon Name change based on network - 31/03/05 01:23 PM
I go under a different alias on another network I frequent and was wondering if it was possible for me to change name on connection?

}
if ($network == Internet1 ) {
nick AtticusII
join #channel1, #channel 2
}


That appears to work but I just want to make sure everything is valid!
Posted By: DaveC Re: Name change based on network - 31/03/05 04:36 PM
you could just put the /nick nickname into the perform specific to that network (well i dont see why you cant at least)
Posted By: Doqnach Re: Name change based on network - 01/04/05 11:58 AM
Code:

on *:CONNECT: {
  if ($network == Internet1) {
    nick AtticusII
    join #channel1, #channel 2
  }
}



place this in a new remote script file ( ALT+R > remote > file > new )
Posted By: Hammer Re: Name change based on network - 01/04/05 04:46 PM
Or just put the nick information in the /server command, using the -i switch.

on *:START:{
  • server DALnet -i PrimaryNick AlternateNick Email[/b]@[/b]addy FullName
    server -m EFnet -i OtherPrimaryNick OtherAlternateNick OtherEmail[/b]@[/b]address OtherFullName
}

/help /server
cool
Posted By: DaveC Re: Name change based on network - 01/04/05 10:21 PM
That wont let him connect at his descression tho, however it is the best scripted method, Maybe an alias for the network would

alias dalnet server $iif($1,new,-m) DALnet -i PrimaryNick AlternateNick [email]Email@addy[/email] FullName
alias EFnet server $iif($1,new,-m) Efnet -i OtherPrimaryNick OtherAlternateNick [email]OtherEmail@address[/email] OtherFullName

/dalnet connects current connection to dalnet
/dalnet new connects new connection to dalnet

I still thought a /NICK command in the perorm on connect for the specific network was best.
Posted By: Hammer Re: Name change based on network - 03/04/05 10:55 AM
That is, in fact, what I do, though I use the server name I wish to connect to as the name of the alias, which includes the IP:port as well (to keep from having to resolve the IP first) and all information for all paramaters. My on START event calls those aliases.

Also, your $iif() should read $iif($1 == new,-m) .. mine just uses $1 because I know to use (for example) /jade -m on the command line.
© mIRC Discussion Forums