mIRC Homepage

If I have a router...

Posted By: Antares

If I have a router... - 13/02/05 01:19 AM

how can I change the setting so that I can receive files?
Posted By: CtrlAltDel

Re: If I have a router... - 13/02/05 03:13 PM

Quote:
how can I change the setting so that I can receive files?


a router should have no effect on receiving files, just sending .. try your ignore settings (Options >> DCC >> Ignore)
Posted By: MTec89

Re: If I have a router... - 13/02/05 04:08 PM

acutally you have to forward ports from your router, to your computer. check your router manual or the company's website for more info.
Posted By: Antares

Re: If I have a router... - 13/02/05 06:56 PM

Well I didn't know that I have a router inside my DSL modem until a while ago. I use SBC Yahoo so if anyone who uses it can help me that would be great.
Posted By: MTec89

Re: If I have a router... - 13/02/05 11:07 PM

maybe i'm wrong but i do not believe the dsl modem has a router in it. a quick google search for yahoo dsl router config prduces results like "yahoo dsl and linksys: problems" etc meaning that it doesnt have an internal router.
Posted By: Antares

Re: If I have a router... - 14/02/05 12:06 AM

Well I called the SBC Yahoo tech support and one of the guys told me that there is a router inside of the modem.
Posted By: MTec89

Re: If I have a router... - 14/02/05 04:14 AM

ok so try going to http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 that should get you in, but if not im not sure.
Posted By: SPReset

I have a question about my Roder - 14/02/05 04:39 PM

I have a Roder and it's a Linksys. Ummm, I use to have the Road Runner in my room and my mom and my sister had the Roders and the time I didn't really know how to work miRC. This was back in 2003. I didn't have problems with my connection. Now, last year when I moved rooms and I got the Roder. I had problems trying to connection to miRC, but I finally ended up getting connected to a server. Now, the only problem I'm still having is trying to share my files with others. What do I need to do? Will their be a way to fix this issue or no? =\
Posted By: MTec89

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 14/02/05 08:05 PM

go to they same addrss as i mentioned 2 posts up, you need to configure port forwarding to your computer's IP address for ports 1024-5000 tcp. if you dont know your computer's lan ip then go to start -> run -> and type 'cmd' for XP, and 'command' for <XP. type in 'ipconfig'
you get this:
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator&gt;ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Posted By: SPReset

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 14/02/05 09:08 PM

^^
Okay thanx for the other information, but the 2 address you posted. The first link askes you for your username and password to access that site and the second link doesn't work. So do I just do the other step? Cause I'm not sure about my IP address and all of that stuff haha
Posted By: MTec89

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 14/02/05 09:13 PM

leave both username and pass blank, or try admin or administrator with no pass, or admin and admin username and pass.
Posted By: SPReset

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 14/02/05 09:18 PM

Quote:
leave both username and pass blank, or try admin or administrator with no pass, or admin and admin username and pass.

Do you mind if I IM you on AIM, so I can show you what it said about the IP thing and what I need to do or no that's not a good idea?
Posted By: MTec89

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 14/02/05 09:20 PM

go ahead
Posted By: Antares

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 15/02/05 09:16 PM

Quote:
ok so try going to http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 that should get you in, but if not im not sure.


Both of those sites dont' work.
Posted By: LostServ

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 15/02/05 09:56 PM

That means you do not have a internal router in your modem.
Posted By: Antares

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 16/02/05 07:02 AM

Oh...hmm then I don't know why I can't receive files in mIRC. Whenever I type in the command it always says something about /dccserver on +s. I know I'm supposed to type that in but when I do it still doesn't work.
Posted By: Antares

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 20/02/05 06:22 PM

No one knows what the problem is?
Posted By: Phant0m

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 20/02/05 07:26 PM

From all what I have read and interpreted, xDSL/Cable+ modems are Routers just not in sense we are use to.

Hi Antares

For sending and receiving files, a problem doesnít necessarily mean is on your end.

In Regards to receiving files,

Is this over DCC server? Or is this done over regular means (/DCC send Antares)

By regular means,

Are you using third-party software firewall? If so what is the name of the software firewall? Is it a rule-based software firewall and you using stealthed rule-set or paranoid rule-set? Paranoid rule-sets restrict communication to specific services like surfing, checking/sending e-mail, connecting to IRC servers. If this is the setup you using you will need to configure rule to allow TCP initiating connections from local PC to remote machines, by default temp range (1024-5000).

Now the other user who sends file send request needs to have everything on his/her end to receive TCP initiating packets from remote machine (and in this case it would be from you), so if user has Router, forwarding port or setting him/her self on DMZ is the first step. If user has software firewall running, it needs to be configured alsoÖ.

If you have any questions, donít hesitate to poster further. wink
Posted By: Antares

Re: I have a question about my Roder - 21/02/05 07:16 PM

Uh...this is done by regular means. The thing is I didn't have this problem before when I got DSL, and then when I didn't use it for a while and began using it again, it had this problem, and I haven't been able to fix it.
© 2021 mIRC Discussion Forums