mIRC Homepage
Posted By: InaquiSandi Browser selection - 02/04/14 07:14 PM
Is there a way to select or define which browser to use when opening a link? I have Win 7 with Firefox as default browser but when I double click on a link it opens IE!

I'm using mirc 6.03 and 7.32 both as portable versions.
Posted By: Loki12583 Re: Browser selection - 02/04/14 08:39 PM
If you hit Win+R and type in a url, which browser opens?
Posted By: pball Re: Browser selection - 02/04/14 09:43 PM
I believe having mirc as portable might be part of the issue. I do have a script for opening links in any chosen browser which I'll post later.

http://scripting.pball.x10.mx/2011/06/21/browser-selector/

Follow directions there and ask questions if you have any
Posted By: InaquiSandi Re: Browser selection - 02/04/14 10:15 PM
It opens Firefox Loki ..
Posted By: InaquiSandi Re: Browser selection - 02/04/14 10:16 PM
Cool going to try and in any case will post questions.. Thanks pball
Posted By: InaquiSandi Re: Browser selection - 02/04/14 10:51 PM
Originally Posted By: pball
I believe having mirc as portable might be part of the issue. I do have a script for opening links in any chosen browser which I'll post later.

http://scripting.pball.x10.mx/2011/06/21/browser-selector/

Follow directions there and ask questions if you have any


Have done it, loaded, set the path.. but I've noticed two things

1) Variable remains without value
2) Even when entering the value by hand, does the same opens IE, instead of other browser.

I'm trying to understand how it works to see if i could make it work... any consideration I should have due to the fact that is running as portable app?
Posted By: sparta Re: Browser selection - 03/04/14 03:35 AM
I using this code.
Code:
on $^*:HOTLINK:/^\W*(((?:https?|ftps?):\/\/|www\.)\S+)\b/:*:return
on $*:HOTLINK:/^\W*(((?:https?|ftps?):\/\/|www\.)\S+)\b/:*:runmax firefox.exe -new-tab $regml(1)

And never failed me so far, easy to use, just paste the code in a remote file.
Posted By: Khaled Re: Browser selection - 03/04/14 09:30 AM
Is this issue happening with mIRC v7.32?

Note: you should not under any circumstances be using any version of mIRC older than v6.35. mIRC v6.35 includes security updates that fix remote exploits existing in older versions of mIRC.
Posted By: pball Re: Browser selection - 03/04/14 10:53 AM
My script does the same as the short one someone else posted above, except it has more features. It just runs any time you click a link and forces it to open using the program you select. I'm not sure why it isn't working for you. I just loaded it up and it prompted me to select a file and I selected chrome. Then it opened links in chrome.

If you're trying it on that old mirc it might not work, I've never used a version that old so the script might not be compatible.
Posted By: Wims Re: Browser selection - 03/04/14 06:10 PM
/runmax would actually fail for anyone not having that custom alias :p.

@Khaled: could you clarify whether or not a colon character inside a parameter of an event definition is problematic or not? (For Example on *:hotlink:http://*:*: but more like on $*:hotlink:/(http:\/\/.+)/:*: ) I remember testing this and iirc, on hotlink wouldn't suffer the problem, but others events would, now I think I also remember this simply works as long as the colon is inside a pair of (), but would be better if you could state how it really is smile

Unlikely but one way to get pball's code to fail is to get a filename with consecutives spaces, where $shortfn is safer than $qt()
Posted By: sparta Re: Browser selection - 03/04/14 08:01 PM
Forgot about my runmax alias, sorry smile
Code:
alias runmax {
  if $os isin 9598me { var %a = command.com }
  else var %a = cmd.exe
  { run -n %a /c start "" /max $$1- }
}

Posted By: InaquiSandi Re: Browser selection - 03/04/14 11:12 PM
Got the script working on 7.32 portable. I'm porting the full scripts I had from 6.0 to 7.32.

But without the script if I double click the url it opens IE, instead of the default browser defined...
Posted By: whiteboo Re: Browser selection - 03/12/14 09:36 PM
I would like to apologize if I am supposed to make a new thread instead of posting here.

In my IRC I am trying to do a similar thing, browser selection. At the moment it seems to work in Channels and Queries. It does not work in the server windows or in the URL list.
Any way I could get it to work with that?

The code I'm using is:
Code:
;on ^*:hotlink:*//*.*:*: { }
;on *:hotlink:*//*.*:*: { run "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1" -incognito $1 }
;on ^*:hotlink:*www.*:*: { }
;on *:hotlink:*www.*:*: { run "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1" -incognito $1 } 
Posted By: Wims Re: Browser selection - 06/12/14 03:10 AM
on hotlink doesn't work with listboxes.
The @url window already has options to run the url: you can double click or right click a line to get the options
What do you mean by 'server window'? On hotlink works for the status window (the main window for a connection).
Posted By: whiteboo Re: Browser selection - 07/12/14 12:18 PM
http://puu.sh/dkAax/e14483067d.png
http://puu.sh/dkA9V/9dfa01059f.png

I don't see where I can choose my browser.

Also, I am not trying to just simply open the URL, I am trying to open it with incognito mode. ..and yeah I did mean status window you're right it does work there sorry about that mistake.
Posted By: Wims Re: Browser selection - 07/12/14 06:26 PM
Well yeah, forgot you actually wanted to use the non default browser there.
But rather than having an option for the @urls windows, I think mIRC should have a general options to specify which browser should be used.
© mIRC Discussion Forums