mIRC Homepage
Posted By: Flame_Haze some random question - 24/05/12 11:13 AM
question, how do people do this

Posted By: Riamus2 Re: some random question - 24/05/12 10:30 PM
That looks like a text effect from Invision, though I'm sure it's been done other places as well. Basically, you're just using background colors and other characters that have the same color as the background to create the colored areas.

Basically, something like:

* I can't seem to paste Ctrl-K... there should be a Ctrl-K before each set of colors. There should also be a Ctrl-O at the end so you can have a space after the word. Note that if you copy/paste this into mIRC, the control codes will be there even though they aren't showing here. Any maybe depending on your browser/etc, you might see them here even though I don't.


Code:
//say 04,04 Hello 
//say 04,04 01,04Hello 
//say 04,04 Hello 

That gives you a red box with black text in the middle. To do the shadow, you do the same thing, but add additional colors. The reason I have the same word in the top and bottom rows is to guarantee that the width of the box remains the same on all 3 lines regardless of the user's font. Note that you might also want to consider using bold text to make it stand out better. Just remember to bold all 3 lines.
Posted By: Flame_Haze Re: some random question - 25/05/12 11:38 AM
ah, but i cant seems to figure out the shadow


though another question, ascii, how do i make a script that dont post all lines at once, since rizon only alows 5-6 lines and dc if i drop it all at once
Posted By: Riamus2 Re: some random question - 25/05/12 04:33 PM
You can use /play or a timer.

The shadow is just a space after the colored part using the shadow color. And then a row just like the colored rows that is underneath and is using the shadow color. To get the effect of 3D, don't put the shadow color on the end of row 1 and put an uncolored space at the beginning of the shadow row.
Posted By: Flame_Haze Re: some random question - 25/05/12 05:53 PM
/play ? do i need to use that command for each line ?
Posted By: sparta Re: some random question - 25/05/12 05:55 PM
/help /play

No, you play a whole text file to the window.
Posted By: Flame_Haze Re: some random question - 25/05/12 07:36 PM
somehow i cant get it right

Posted By: Riamus2 Re: some random question - 25/05/12 11:07 PM
Use the words in the shadow just like I showed for the main box. That will guarantee that it stays aligned.
Posted By: Flame_Haze Re: some random question - 26/05/12 07:11 AM
//say 09,09 Heart Beat Doki <3 
//say 09,09 00,09Heart Beat Doki <3 03,03<3  
//say 09,09 Heart Beat Doki <3 03,03 <3
//say    03,03 HEART BEAT DOKI D

is how i did it , i tried with space to but space dont work

//say 09,09 OH HADENA <3 
//say 09,09 00,09OH HADENA <3 03,03<3  
//say 09,09 OH HADENA <3 03,03 <3
//say    03,03 HADENA HADENa

but this one worked fine its realy wierd *note the lower "a"*
Posted By: Riamus2 Re: some random question - 26/05/12 01:33 PM
That will probably fail with certain fonts. Here:

//say 09,09 OH HADENA <3 
//say 00,09 OH HADENA <3 03,03   
//say 09,09 OH HADENA <3 03,03   
//say    03,03 OH HADENA <3 

Again, the codes aren't showing, but here's what I did...

Line 1 has the foreground and background color the same so the words are not seen and it ends in a space followed by Ctrl-B. I should have suggest B instead of O because O loses your colors, which will mess things up later.

Besides the foreground color being black, line 2 is the same up until the Ctrl-B. In place of that is the color code and then a few spaces with Ctlr-B between each space.

Line 3 is a duplicate of line 2 besides changing the foreground color to match the background color again.

And line 4 basically just moves the end from line 3 to the beginning of the line and uses the shadow color for the line. One bold character is left at the end to provide the single space that is at the end of the previous line's text.

Copy/paste it somewhere and you'll see how I did it. Keep in mind that any time you want to guarantee things line up properly in all fonts, that you need to use the exact same characters on all lines. Not all fonts display characters the same, so even if you get the alignment right on one font using different characters, it can look far different on other fonts.
Posted By: Flame_Haze Re: some random question - 26/05/12 02:22 PM
i use ms pgothic i think thats the reason yes

also is it hard to make scripts that react on triiggers like this ?


im kinda intressed in making scripts like the !loli trigger
Posted By: Flame_Haze Re: some random question - 28/05/12 12:38 PM
though i dont know howto make scripts but i was able to make aliases
Posted By: Riamus2 Re: some random question - 28/05/12 02:53 PM
An alias is a script. It's just a specific kind.

/help on text

That gives you an example of what you want.
© mIRC Discussion Forums