mIRC Homepage
Posted By: CrackinStine mIRC Virus? - 25/03/07 04:10 PM
I have been using mirc for about 3 years, and just 2 days ago, something wierd happend. aparently a virus got my mirc.. or something, because my virus scanner ended up deleating all the mirc icons on my comp, as well as a few other random ones...

But now I can't use mirc, I tried to reload it but virus alert pops up as soon as its installed. and boom its gone again..

Virus name: not-a-virus:Client-IRC.Win32.mIRC.621

Any ideas?
Crack.
Posted By: HuMoR Re: mIRC Virus? - 25/03/07 04:11 PM
Do you use Kaspersky antivirus?

Posted By: CrackinStine Re: mIRC Virus? - 25/03/07 04:27 PM
Zone Alarm, its like a all in one.
Posted By: HuMoR Re: mIRC Virus? - 25/03/07 04:39 PM
Originally Posted By: CrackinStine
Zone Alarm, its like a all in one.

Search the exceptions. And make the mirc.exe exception.
For Kaspersky Antivirus MaFi0s0 say in http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=6399

Quote:

used to know mIRC scripting inside and out, and it is posible to run mIRC(with a script preloaded) and have it wipe out your whole computer on next reboot, just by running the mIRC.exe file, it is also posible to get mIRC to download and execute files from the internet.

But isn't a virus...

Cya!.-
Posted By: starbucks_mafia Re: mIRC Virus? - 25/03/07 05:39 PM
Just as the "virus" name says, mIRC is not a virus. Some anti-virus software will treat mIRC as if it were a virus because it can be considered riskware, which means that mIRC can be used to run malicious scripts (only if you decide to download and run a malicious/unknown script) and has in the past been used as a payload for some trojans.