mIRC Homepage
Posted By: goobs MIRC.32 VIRUS?? - 08/11/07 08:30 PM
I'm new to the message boards. I walked away from chat 2 nights ago, and fell asleep. When I came back I had a virus warning (severe)staring at me. When I ran Norton, it came back as some kind of a MIRC.32 virus that couldn't be fixed - OK. I re-formatted the entire hard drive, came back, loaded Mirc at havenofbliss/christiancommand I believe it is - ran Norton - guess what??? Same problem although this time it did not say the threat was severe. I'm re-formatting again. I'll be back in a few hours. I'll watch for some kind of a response. I don't know what to do!! Please help.
Posted By: starbucks_mafia Re: MIRC.32 VIRUS?? - 08/11/07 08:55 PM
I'm guessing there's more to the message, probably something of the lines of "riskware" or "not a virus" mentioned?

Every now and then antivirus companies update their virus definitions and (seemingly at random) decide to ring alarm bells that mIRC is a virus. Usually they mention in the message that mIRC isn't actually a virus but that they consider it riskware or a possible indication of a virus. The reason being that in the past there have been trojans that have used mIRC.exe as part of their payload to send information about the infected PC to an IRC channel. Obviously if you've intentionally installed mIRC then this isn't something to worry about and you can tell Norton to ignore it.
Posted By: RusselB Re: MIRC.32 VIRUS?? - 08/11/07 11:05 PM
In addition to what Starbucks said, we do not recommend that you download mIRC from any location other than here as other locations may have infected files.
Posted By: goobs Re: MIRC.32 VIRUS?? - 09/11/07 12:58 AM
Originally Posted By: starbucks_mafia
I'm guessing there's more to the message, probably something of the lines of "riskware" or "not a virus" mentioned?