mIRC Homepage
Posted By: cyberteddy New to IRC - 06/03/03 06:37 PM
Hello,

I am new to using IRC, I was just wandering if you can download stuff like you can with ftp?

Thanx,
Cyberteddy
Posted By: Watchdog Re: New to IRC - 06/03/03 06:57 PM
Yes.

Be careful though, much of what is downloadable from IRC is both be-trojaned and/or illegal. IRC is by no means the only place to download such files though.
Posted By: The_Game Re: New to IRC - 06/03/03 11:25 PM
If downloading, it is recommended that you try a program designed for that purpose i.e. Kazaa, Morpheus, iMesh...and/or many others. But the potential of receiving trojans/viruses are still there. Often scan files.
Posted By: quik Re: New to IRC - 10/03/03 09:18 AM
IRC is a GREAT place for downloading free stuff, aslong as you have a virus scanner and the newest virus definitions you are set, BTW: dont use kazaa. Morpheus is the same thing so its not worth getting either, stick with IRC and FTP's. Why buy when you can get for free..
Posted By: starbucks_mafia Re: New to IRC - 10/03/03 10:30 AM
Because if you don't buy, companies can very easily go out of business (when it comes to most computer programs that is).

And IRC is a horrible place to download stuff:
  • Inefficient transfer protocol
  • Lack of standards for basic commands (search etc.)
  • Limited search capabilities (one channel on one network at a time)
Posted By: Watchdog Re: New to IRC - 10/03/03 11:58 AM
IRC is a GREAT place for downloading free stuff, aslong as you have a virus scanner and the newest virus definitions you are set