mIRC Homepage
Hiya guys,

Firstly, i'm new here, so hello to everyone. I'm very new to all this so please be kind to me wink

Here's my problem i'm hoping you can help me with.

I run an internet radio station called DJ Source Radio, but we've failed to find a reliable ad-free chat room so far, and a few of the users have mentioned setting up an IRC chat room - something which I have very little experience with.

Could someone please advise me how I can create a permanent chat room (one which will stay active even if nobody remains in the room). Also, if possible, i'd like to make a few users of the room moderators when they enter the room so that they can kick out abusive users - is this possible also?

Our station has only been running for a few months, and our budget is very low so ideally, we're looking for something free or with a minimal fee - can someone point me in the right direction please so that I can get a reliable room set up?

Thanks in advance everyone cool
Check this useful thread posted by Mentality. It pretty much covers the whole creating & keeping an IRC channel up smile

Edit: There is the possibily of having moderators (usually called Operators or Ops, which can manage the channel: kicking abusive users; banning them, changin the channel's topic, changing the chan's modes, etc.. You can start by connecting to an IRC network and joining #help (/join #Help) or any help channel and asking more info smile

Good luck!
Zyzzyx smile
There is a thread just above yours entitled Finding and Creating a Channel, you should read it.

IRC is free, creating a channel is free on 99.9% of IRC networks. You need to set up and use mIRC however, in order to connect to IRC and make a channel. mIRC costs $20 to register after the 30 day free trial period.

To cut down on costs, choose a network that supports channel registration - that thread has some suggestions. Channel registration is free on all networks listed and almost all other IRC networks that support it.