mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
insufficient parameters. #99170 29/09/04 05:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
E
eendje Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
E
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
I get, 'msg, insufficient parameters' with this script

Code:
alias rara {  
  while (%i <= $nick(#dark-klix,0)) {  
    msg $chan !getlink $nick(#dark-klix,%i) 
    /timer 1 2 /rara
    inc %i  
    halt
  }  
  else { 
    %i = 1
    halt
  }   
}


when I change msg to echo, I get
'msg, insufficient parameters'

When I try it on a clean IRC client it works...


What can be the problem?


---
signatures own
Re: insufficient parameters. #99171 29/09/04 06:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
L
LocutusofBorg Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
erm, so if you use the code you pasted with the word 'echo' instead 'of 'msg' you get the error? With that change, the code you pasted cannot produce that error...


DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius
Re: insufficient parameters. #99172 29/09/04 06:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
E
eendje Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
E
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
It does, want screenies?

that code gives me, */msg Insufficient parameters.

on a clean Irc it gives me what it should do.

There is nothing else in the file, its loaded its doubled checked...


---
signatures own
Re: insufficient parameters. #99173 30/09/04 02:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
E
eendje Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
E
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
anyone?


---
signatures own
Re: insufficient parameters. #99174 30/09/04 03:16 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
tidy_trax Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
If it errors when you change msg to echo, then you must have an overwritten echo alias, try !echo


New username: hixxy
Re: insufficient parameters. #99175 30/09/04 03:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
You're using the identifier $chan, which means that the alias will only work if called from an event which fills the $chan identifier.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: insufficient parameters. #99176 30/09/04 03:31 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
tidy_trax Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
It also works if the active window is a channel.

Code:
alias test echo -a $chan


/test


New username: hixxy
Re: insufficient parameters. #99177 30/09/04 07:34 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
E
eendje Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
E
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
I know it works with you, It works with me, IF I use a plain client.
When I use my regular client it doesnt work.
this thread isnt about the code its about what could be wrong with my main irc.


---
signatures own
Re: insufficient parameters. #99178 30/09/04 07:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
tidy_trax Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
Your msg alias is probably overwritten, try typing //!echo -a $isalias(msg), if it echo's "$true", then you have a /msg alias which is being called instead of the default one, in which case you can either delete the alias or use /!msg


New username: hixxy