mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98196 21/09/04 05:50 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
P
peejaygee Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
I would like to get mIRC to connect to Efnet, and IRCnet as soon as it starts up, as i chat in one channel on each, I can get it to connect to IRCnet now, but I have to manually connect to Efnet Network and tick "New Server Windows", is there a work around, or am I missing something.

Thanks.

Re: Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98197 21/09/04 06:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
Add in remote:
Code:
on 1:OPEN:{
  /server server 1
  /server server2
}

on 1:CONNECT: {
  if ($server == server1) { join #channel }
  if ($server == server2) { join #channel }
}

change it to if ($netowork == network1) { join #channel }
make you join the channel, and it dosent mather what server ur connected to on that network.. to find the network name:
//echo -a This is the netowrk name: $network


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98198 21/09/04 06:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Code:
on *:start:{
server irc.efnet.org -j #channelonefnet
server -m irc.ircnet.com -j #channelonircnet
}


Put the above in your Remote, ALT+R - Make sure it's in a new file, File > New.

It will connect to EFnet when you startup, then open a new server window to IRCnet. Change #channelonefnet to the channel you chat in on EFnet, and #channelonircnet for the channel on IRCnet.

You may also wish to see /help on start.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98199 21/09/04 06:36 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
P
peejaygee Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
This I'm guessing can be tweaked, if I have two channels in each network?

what does the -m and -j do?

Re: Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98200 21/09/04 06:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
P
peejaygee Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
tried the
Quote:
on 1:OPEN:{ /server server 1 /server server2}on 1:CONNECT: { if ($server == server1) { join #channel } if ($server == server2) { join #channel }}


But I can only get it to open to one network? the other doesn't happen, do I need 2 scripts?

Re: Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98201 21/09/04 07:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
tidy_trax Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
Code:
on *:start:{
  server irc.efnet.org -j #channel1,#channel2,etc
  server -m irc.ircnet.com -j #channel1,#channel2,etc
}


If you omit the -m, then mIRC will disconnect from the current server, and connect to the new one, if you use -m, then it will open a new connection.
The -j means mIRC will join the channels following it when it connects to the server.


New username: hixxy
Re: Trying to connect to two Networks at once. #98202 21/09/04 07:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
The ON OPEN event does not trigger when mIRC starts up, I think sparta got confused with the ON START event. ON OPEN triggers on certain windows opening (i.e. when you're private message'd etc.). Do not use that.

Take note of my own post and tidy_trax's. You may also wish to see /help /server. Apologies for confusion caused.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris