mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Unable To Resolve IRC server #9726 05/02/03 01:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
K
Krog Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Ok, my internet is fine yet my irc wont connect to any servers. i have had irc for years and it has always worked, now it will never connect, can anyone help me?

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9727 05/02/03 01:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Well give us some information to work with..
What error(s) do you get?
Have you just changed your ISP?
Do you have a network set up, if so, how is it set up? (router, etc)
Are you behind a firewall, if so what one?
Any other information about your setup would be helpful.

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9728 05/02/03 10:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
K
Krog Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
i am behind a router, a d-link but it has never effected it before

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9729 06/02/03 12:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1
S
Synthespian Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1
I'm also behind the D-Link router.
Net, e-mail, Mesanger, ICQ all fine.

Can't get this to puch thru. After sorting the DAL-net issue, I'm stuck in the Unable to Resolve Server message.

I have tried entering in some Firewall info, but it just hangs.

Other info...err...
The D-Link router has a LAN system inside it, which acts as a hardwarefirewall i believe.
I haven't a clue about entering in ports.
Don't know what else I could tell you.

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9730 06/02/03 08:24 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
Most ppl need to leave the firewall option set to NONE.

YOu can check this web page for currently linked DALnet servers to be sure you are trying to connect to one thats up. You might also try connecting to the numeric of a server rather than the alpha. Take a look at that error in the thread at the top of this forum named Common IRC Errors.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9731 06/02/03 07:22 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
K
Krog Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
i dont know how to acess my dlink firewall, anyone know?

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9732 06/02/03 07:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Usually through your web browser.

Address is usually http://192.168.0.1/ but not always. You'll need to read your destruction manual and then try to remember the user ID and password.

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9733 06/02/03 10:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
K
Krog Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
system password? where would i get this.
watchdog, i wish i had a destruction manual.

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9734 06/02/03 11:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
Just a thought..have you double checked that mIRC is getting the right ip info for you? file/options/connect/local info, do you have local host and ip checked? Do you have lookup method set to server?

Password should be in the manual, if you got the router thru your isp, then if they allow access to tweak, think they give it to you. You may find some of the howtos and troubleshooting articles at this web page helpful
Mite also try these two:
web page
http://www.dlink.co.uk


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9735 06/02/03 11:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
K
Krog Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
local host is checked, but the fields are blank

ok i got the system password to get in but i have no idea how to disable the firewall, can anyone help?

Last edited by Krog; 06/02/03 11:36 PM.
Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9736 07/02/03 09:36 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
P
Poppy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
mIRC will fill in those fields itself, no need to input anything. Go to Options->Connect->Firewall then Firewall support: None. If you can't see the 'none' option, use the up arrow key and it will appear. smile


Never compare yourself to others - they're more screwed up than you think.
Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9737 08/02/03 03:01 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
Since i dont use the router you do, i have no idea how to make the changes you want or how you can disable the firewall part of it. Did you check the urls i posted?

re localinfo, mIRC should fill those values in itself, but if it doesnt, manually put in your ip info.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9738 08/02/03 04:30 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
K
Krog Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6
god damn i have no idea what to do, im still getting no luck

Re: Unable To Resolve IRC server #9739 09/02/03 01:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
Realize that we may not always be able to give you step by step instructions, and you will have to do some reading of manuals/help sites. Tracking down the specific problem isnt always easy.

Are you positive the server you are trying to connect to is linked? that you are typing the command exactly? I dont know what network you are trying to connect to, but try this:

First: open mIRC and in status window type:
/server irc.prison.net

If you get the cant resolve error, then type this:
/server 208.178.231.190


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet