mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
lag meter #96027 29/08/04 11:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
L
LethPhaos Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
I think it could be nice to have a lag meter somewhere where it is always visible in mIRC. I know you can ping someone and what you get is the lag in seconds. But a bar that shows the lag to the server could be nice.

Re: lag meter #96028 29/08/04 11:23 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Personally, I think they are so easily available at scripting websites that it's unnecessary for mIRC to have this incorporated. There are four listed here. You might also want to search Google.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: lag meter #96029 29/08/04 11:41 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
L
LethPhaos Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
thanx

Re: lag meter #96030 30/08/04 05:55 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 29
E
electrik Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
E
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 29
I think this is a wonderful idea. Not everyone wants to figure out how to load a script with backdoors.

Hello zack.

Re: lag meter #96031 30/08/04 07:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
A "lag detector" is not the most ideal script in the world. Not only is is fairly pointless (from the stand point of you should be chatting when you have your client on, and can tell what your lag is by doing so), but is also an extreme strain on the server. Think of the 100's of thousands of people on a server, all with a ping script. Individualaly, it's only, what, something like 100bytes. Now multiply that by each user. Now again, by every 30 seconds, 45 seconds, minute, or even every 5 minutes.

Look at a simple 500 person server:

100bytes -> 1 ping
* 500 users -> 50,000bytes (= 48.82Kb)
* once per minute (for an hour) -> 2929.68Kb (= 2.86Mb)
* 24 for one day -> 68.66Mb
* 30 days (avg month) -> 2059.93Mb (= 2.01Gb)

That's 2 gigs of bandwidth a month just because someone wants to have a neat little statistic built into their client. Personally, if you want your ping time, get it as needed. Could be a popup, an alias, or whatever. You don't need to make a nice gui bar graph or line graph or even progress bar just because you want to leave your mIRC running while you play a game or go out for dinner.


-KingTomato
Re: lag meter #96032 30/08/04 11:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
N
nalAAlan Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
N
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Why would you want to send 100 bytes?
Code:
notice $me $ticks

That's like 20 bytes.

Re: lag meter #96033 31/08/04 12:13 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
D
DekuHaze Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
Hmm. I wonder... could the "ping? pong!" event be somehow utilised for the lag bar? Does the server always ping at a set amount of time?

If mIRC kept track of the server pings and timed how long there was between each one, couldn't some kind of lag time be deduced form that?

Sure it's crude, but it doesn't eat up the server's bandwidth any more than normal mIRC usage.

Edited: for grammar reasons

Last edited by DekuHaze; 31/08/04 12:18 AM.
Re: lag meter #96034 31/08/04 01:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
You're only counting one direction.. I suspect KingTomato is thinking of there and back again, which for me produced a total length of 123 bytes (excluding cr/lfs).

//raw ping $ticks tends to use less bandwidth, for what it's worth.

Re: lag meter #96035 31/08/04 02:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
I was actually calculating the following:

ping <server> (Estimating server to be 15 characters)
pong <server> <nick> (nick about 9 characters)

Now we're at 30 characters * 2 = 60, plus packet header info. (20 bytes each packet)

then 20 just for s&g's

We're at 100.


-KingTomato
Re: lag meter #96036 31/08/04 02:57 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
N
nalAAlan Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
N
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
in reply to Collective

That wouldn't work if you were using a bouncer.

Re: lag meter #96037 31/08/04 06:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
L
LethPhaos Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
In case of the //notice $me $ticks, what do you get?

From mIRC help:
$ticks
Returns the number of ticks since your operating system was first started.

What does this have to do with LAG?

Re: lag meter #96038 31/08/04 07:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
When you get the reply, you subtract current ticks from the number you sent previously, and get the "lag". Ex:

//notice $me $ticks
on $*:NOTICE:/([0-9]+)/:*: {
if ($nick == $me) /echo Lag: $calc($ticks - $1)
}


-KingTomato
Re: lag meter #96039 01/09/04 02:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
L
LethPhaos Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
when i do
Code:
 //notice $me $ticks 


and have
Code:
 on $*:NOTICE:*:*: {
  if ($nick == $me) /echo Lag: $calc($ticks - $1)
}  


in a clean mIRC 6.16 it doesn't work.

Re: lag meter #96040 01/09/04 06:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 101
D
dr_Eamer Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 101
You're doing something wrong...
Are remotes on?
Are you connected to a server?
No error messages of any kind?
Is it a completely clean mIRC for sure or is there another on notice above this one in the remotes file?

Just speculations...
Apart from the code being simple and straightforward, I c/p'ed the code and it works like a charm (mIRC 6.16)!


Maybe I wake up one day to notice that all my life was just a dream!
Re: lag meter #96041 01/09/04 06:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
L
LethPhaos Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
remotes are on, I'm connected to Quakenet, I don't see any error message by doing this, it's in a clean mIRC 6.16

But the result is shown in the server window and not in the channel window where I typed it, so it works...

blush blush blush blush shame on me, thanx for finding solutions for a problem that was in reality not there.

Last edited by LethPhaos; 01/09/04 06:32 PM.
Re: lag meter #96042 01/09/04 09:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 101
D
dr_Eamer Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 101
No worries!
Be cool! cool


Maybe I wake up one day to notice that all my life was just a dream!
Re: lag meter #96043 02/09/04 01:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
N
nalAAlan Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
N
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Code:
on me:*:NOTICE:*:*: {
  echo Lag: $calc($ticks - $1)
}


much better

Re: lag meter #96044 02/09/04 05:54 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
L
LethPhaos Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 237
I suppose this result is in milliseconds?

Re: lag meter #96045 02/09/04 09:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Iori Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
You suppose correctly. :[/b])

Re: lag meter #96046 02/09/04 10:29 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
FiberOPtics Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
That's not better at all. Now the code doesn't make any distinction between a notice with ticks and whatever other notice you send yourself.

Greets


Gone.
Page 1 of 2 1 2