mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#93776 12/08/04 08:56 AM
HS3D Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
I'm new to the IRC thing, so if you want to fill me in on that I'd appreciate that too, but what I came to ask anyone was that a program called mIRC(and xIRC before) keep showing up on my Add or Remove Programs. When I click the button to remove, all I get is a little window that only shows Retry and Exit. Retry doesn't do anything, and I would really like to get rid of it, maybe cause I don't know anything about it. For some reason, my computer slows up when they show up, so I think it's better off without them. Am I in the right place to be asking, and if I am, could you please help me out. Appreciate it, PEACE cool

Sorry read the Welcome after I wrote this LOL. I use Windows XP and DSL, only for a short while, and I have all my firewalls turned off cause they interfere with my online gaming. I think that's all yall asked me to post, but for right now that's all I can remember. PEACE cool cool

Last edited by HS3D; 12/08/04 09:03 AM.

#93777 12/08/04 11:03 AM
M
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
M
Hey there, and welcome to the mIRC message boards smile

Firstly, just to say that IRC means Internet Relay Chat. It's a protocol that you can connect to with an IRC client such as mIRC. There are other IRC clients out there. More info can be found in the IRC FAQ section.

If you have mIRC installed on your computer and you did not install it, and you cannot uninstall it, then it is very likely that you are infected with some sort of virus or trojan. A lot of trojans use mIRC to connect 'GT Bots' (Global Threat Bots) to IRC networks. These bots can then be used to spam and attack people, servers or websites. Each GT Bot exists because someone on the Internet is infected, thousands of people are doing this with absolute no knowledge. More info on GT Bots can be found here.