mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Remotes problem #93519 10/08/04 03:30 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
R
Riamus Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
I've been running a trivia bot for a couple years and only recently ran into a problem. For some reason, when I start the script, it takes a couple minutes to start mIRC up. Then, once it's up, it works normally... except one thing. When I open Remotes, it opens fine, saves/loads fine and everything... but when I press OK, it takes a couple minutes to close the Remotes window (or aliases or whatever). During that period, the script/mirc is frozen and using about 100% of CPU. Ctrl-Break doesn't do anything since it's not a script that's running, but the Remotes trying to close.

I tried updating it from 6.14 to 6.16 and had the same results, so I know it's not the EXE. Any other possibilities?

Re: Remotes problem #93520 10/08/04 03:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
You're probably overloaded with vaiables. Type /unsetall to get rid of them. But backup your script before doing that, in case anything goes wrong afterwards.

Re: Remotes problem #93521 10/08/04 03:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Any antivirus programs installed? I know Norton Antivirus causes there to be a slow opening of the Scripts Editor but only if 'Auto Protect' is enabled, and I've never seen it be as bad as 2 minutes.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Remotes problem #93522 11/08/04 12:13 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
S
Securix Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
Maybe you have a lot of remote files loaded... You should unload unused functions.


Thinking is the worst disease of the brain.

To reply by mail, remove "nospam-" in my adress
Re: Remotes problem #93523 11/08/04 11:00 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
N
Naz Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
N
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
You might also need to defragment your hard drive. mIRC remotes can lag badly when a drive is very fragmented.


Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.
Re: Remotes problem #93524 12/08/04 04:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
R
Riamus Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks! It was the variables being overloaded. I didn't think to look at them... apparently a script I had wasn't unsetting variables and since it set variables dynamically, it ended up creating a 1.85MB variables file over time without me knowing it. Oops. smile

Another reason to always unset your variables. smile

Thanks again.

Re: Remotes problem #93525 12/08/04 05:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
You're welcome laugh

As a side note, that's exactly why I prefer to use hash tables instead of variables for storing large amount of data. For some reason, Khaled chose to save the variables in INI format, which takes much longer to parse than a 'native' hash table file, like the one created by /hsave.