mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
input language or whatever #90013 11/07/04 11:51 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
T
thing Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
hello

if i try to enter a channel named "blablăbla" it will stop at the "ă" and enter "blabl" why? i tried with /join, in the channel window, even right clicking the channel name after a /whois won't join

could anyone help me? microsoft windows xp service pack 2, everything in english!

thanks

Re: input language or whatever #90014 11/07/04 11:57 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Z
Zyzzyx26 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Z
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Can't confirm that here. I tried /join #blablăbla and was able to join the channel, no problems.
Maybe it is one of your mIRC settings? (dunno which one though :/)

Zyzzyx.


"All we are saying is give peace a chance" -- John Lennon
Re: input language or whatever #90015 11/07/04 12:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 701
K
Kelder Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 701
You have probably a custom alias named join, that somehow messes it up, it is also called when you doubleclick on channels in whois info or use /j.
Try /[color:red]!join #blablăbla[/color] and see if that works. If it does, you can do //!echo -s file: $isalias(join).fname ; first line:$isalias(join).alias to trace it down in your remote files and change or remove it.


Re: input language or whatever #90016 11/07/04 12:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 788
C
Coolkill Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 788
Failing Kelders' solution this could also be an IRCd related issue although i've never been on a network that doesnt suppose channel names with non-alphanumeric what network are you using this on?

Eamonn.

Re: input language or whatever #90017 11/07/04 03:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
T
thing Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
i will try that, cant do it now.

its not a network problem, its a portuguese network, theres lots of channels with ă, etc...

thanks

Re: input language or whatever #90018 11/07/04 04:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
T
thing Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
kelder, doing that gives me this message:

file: ; first line:$isalias(join).alias

Re: input language or whatever #90019 11/07/04 04:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
T
thing Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
its funny, i have no problems with "ő"

Re: input language or whatever #90020 11/07/04 04:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 701
K
Kelder Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 701
Well, there should be a space before $isalias(join).alias, but since the fname doesn't return anything, it's not what I hoped it would be. I assume that /!join #blă doesn't work either. Well, I'm out of options really, maybe try /!raw JOIN #blăblă ?

Re: input language or whatever #90021 11/07/04 04:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
D
DekuHaze Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
I personally have no problems joining "blablăbla" on EFnet with mIRC 6.16...

Re: input language or whatever #90022 11/07/04 05:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
T
thing Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
kelder: didnt work but thanks for your time

i can enter the channels with no problems in my first computer, but the other one i can't, both have the same things installed.