mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
B
Mostly harmless
OP Offline
Mostly harmless
B
I can say i am not average user But i am not very Good at Networking stuff. I always have doubt for channels like <channel names deleted> Is it Safe to download fromt hose channels is someone hacking me? is someone in my computer even though i have firewalla " Mcafee & Built IN Windows XP" How can make secure? If someone can answer those questions for me i will really appricate.
Please unlighten me on this issue

am i safe on Mirc? if i am not what should i do to make me more secure experience with Mirc?

Thanks
Baljeet

Last edited by ParaBrat; 07/07/04 05:19 AM.
S
Vogon poet
Vogon poet
S
mIRC is only as safe as you make it, and downloading OBVIOUSLY increase the chances of your computer being compromised see this link for some Info web page

ScoT
#mIRC Undernet

Give a man a fish feed him for a day, Teach him to fish, feed him for life
M
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
M
Also note that mIRC isn't a file trading program - downloading with mIRC is often illegal (bollywood films are copyrighted too!) and can lead to being infected.

Some good rules to follow are:

- Never click on links that are sent to you except from trusted people that you know well.
- Never accept files from people that you don't know, especially if they are sent to you when you join a channel, or they end in .exe.
- Never TYPE anything anyone tells you to type, especially if it contains //write, //echo or $decode.
- Do not open emails from people you do not know.
- Do not download scripts that you do not code yourself except from trusted websites that virus/exploit-check their scripts. These include mircscripts.org and mirc.net. Do note however, even with these sites only download at your own risk.
- Only ever download mIRC from http://www.mirc.com/get.html (or mirc.co.uk/get.html). Always keep up with the latest version.