mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#86770 14/06/04 12:37 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
R
Riamus Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
I know mirc has a rollback feature in it. Is there a setting for this to change how far it rolls back on a resume? Default is 4k, but that still can be a problem. I think a 10k would be best and would like to change that setting if there is a setting for it. Thanks.

#86771 14/06/04 12:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
I'm not sure what you mean by "rollback". The log reloading feature perhaps? That reloads as far back as the window buffer allows, the window buffer size can be set in mIRC Options -> Other.

#86772 14/06/04 01:37 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 457
D
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 457
i think he means rolling back a certian number of bytes when resuming a DCC. Rolling back, as in deleting those bytes incase they are currupt.

mIRC does not have a roll back feature at all and resumes at the same byte it stopped (as far as i know). You cannot roll back bytes when resuming a DCC.

#86773 14/06/04 02:52 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
R
Riamus Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
Yes, that's what I mean. And yes, it does roll back 4k. Try downloading anything and stop it whle it's still under 100k (for easy viewing) ... watch what it's stopped at. Then resume it. You will see it start 4k under where it was before. But 4k can still have bad downloads, so 10k would really be preferable. And unless it's hard-coded, it should be editable.

Note that the RESUME command *DOES* accept a resume-from file point, so it should be editable as an option.

#86774 14/06/04 03:15 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 50
Z
zaz Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
Z
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 50
There is no option, but if you can type a resume point, then use a bit of code to check the incoming file in a CTCP event. Then code the rest there. I've not seen the option to resume from a set byte in the file, so I can't tell you how to do that. Last I checked (many versions ago) mIRC did NOT roll back files.

It's also possible that it's doing a CRC on the last few bytes vs the next few bytes to ensure it IS the same file. I might do some testing on this, but not right now... smile


zaz @ DALnet #mIRC http://www.mirc.org/ & #HelpDesk http://helpdesk.zaz.net/
#86775 23/07/04 08:28 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
J
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
J
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
First, get the latest mIRC from mIRC.com.
I know the following script works for 6.1, can't be sure about anything else
but pretty convinced it would work for any later version.

Anyway, Paste the following code EXACTLY as it is
in the Alt+r window in mIRC (mIRC scripts editor, Remote tab):

On *:GETFAIL:*: {
btrunc $filename $iif($calc($file($filename).size - 102400 ) > 0, $ifmatch, 0)
}


In "Connect" -> "Options" click on "Perform" ->
in "All networks" (select from top list), paste:

/ctcps on
/raw on
/events on


Notice that 102400 = 100K so if you want to trunc less / more from the file
you can adjust it accordingly, though I wouldn't recommend truncing less
seeing as 8 KB is the mIRC default and its far from sufficient...
and what's 100K for the 2 GB file you're resuming, anyway ?
maybe even 200 would be better, maybe more o_O
obviously - the more you trunc the lower chance for corruptions
but also more time and bandwidth are wasted for redownloading data
Your choice, I work with 100 and it seems to work well for me
thgguh I don't download that much

GL

(updated - 25/11/03)


Link Copied to Clipboard