mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#84925 01/06/04 09:49 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Z
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Z
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
In word or notepad i am able to press [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[N] and get the character ñ; or Ctrl+Alt+O and get ó (very used char in portuguese).

I *think* I remember I was able to do that in mIRC as well, but dont remember how. Any ideas? smile

Thanks,
Zyzzyx.


"All we are saying is give peace a chance" -- John Lennon
#84926 01/06/04 10:12 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
There's another thread here that gives a good alias for this type of thing, but this should help you out too.

Code:
/ascii {
  if (!@ASCII) { window -E @ASCII Times New Roman,11 }
  var %ascii 1
  while (%ascii < 256) { aline @ASCII $ $+ chr( $+ %ascii $+ ) = $chr(%ascii) | inc %ascii }
}



Keep in mind that if you want to type it in manually, you'd use ALT and the number pad. Let me give you some examples (based off of the font I normally use which is Times New Roman - different fonts will display different characters):

In mirc, typing //echo a $chr(49) would result in:

a 1 (the number ONE)

If you then held the ALT down and pressed 0049 on your number pad, you'd see a 1 (the number ONE) in your editbox.


Another example:

In mirc, typing //echo a $chr(123) would result in:

a {

If you then held the ALT down and pressed 0123 on your number pad, you'd see a { in your editbox.


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#84927 01/06/04 10:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Z
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Z
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Thanks for the code! laugh

Zyzzy.


"All we are saying is give peace a chance" -- John Lennon
#84928 01/06/04 10:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
anytime smile glad to be of help smile


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#84929 02/06/04 12:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hey landon,

shouldn't if !@ASCII be changed to if !$window(@ASCII) ?

Code:
 
alias test {
  window @test
  if !@test { echo -a window not present }
  else { echo -a window present }
}

/test --> window not present

Greets

Last edited by FiberOPtics; 02/06/04 12:33 PM.

Gone.
#84930 02/06/04 01:56 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
You might be interested in this thread. smile

#84931 02/06/04 01:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
Yes you're right altho it does work the other way. I just copy/pasted an old alias of mine and never error checked it (since it works)


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#84932 02/06/04 07:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Z
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Z
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 714
Cool, glad to know it will be fixed! laugh

Thanks everybody for the help!

Zyzzy. smile


"All we are saying is give peace a chance" -- John Lennon

Link Copied to Clipboard