mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Color syntax in Remotes #83189
16/05/04 04:56 AM
16/05/04 04:56 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 143
NH, USA
D
DeathfireD Offline OP
Vogon poet
DeathfireD  Offline OP
Vogon poet
D

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 143
NH, USA
I think adding in Color syntax would make the remote and other sections a little easyer to code in. I have seen a few mIRC remote script editers with Color syntax and it ends up working pritty nicely. Dont know how many people agree with me, but I think it would be nice to have a little pannel that will allow me to change the colors of the remote Color syntax.


if (Windows isin %txt.1) { /kick # $nick Windows is a badword tisk tisk tisk. }
Re: Color syntax in Remotes #83190
17/05/04 12:02 AM
17/05/04 12:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Hill End, NSW, Australia
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Watchdog  Offline
Hoopy frood

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Hill End, NSW, Australia
A few have asked for it in the past. Personally I don't mind whether it happens or not. I code websites in Notepad so I am accustomed to doing things in black and white. I tried a coloured editor for that once and foudn it distracting so for some it may even work against them.


Induced IRC
irc.induced.net
Re: Color syntax in Remotes #83191
17/05/04 03:33 AM
17/05/04 03:33 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 108
PA, USA
X
xxxYODAxxx Offline
Vogon poet
xxxYODAxxx  Offline
Vogon poet
X

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 108
PA, USA
I do all my work in notepad also,, however,, might be nice for commenting small test runs, or linked info.. things of that sort.. especially when helping with someone elses scripts smile


sometimes these are as bad as quit messages :tongue:
Re: Color syntax in Remotes #83192
17/05/04 06:45 PM
17/05/04 06:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 143
NH, USA
D
DeathfireD Offline OP
Vogon poet
DeathfireD  Offline OP
Vogon poet
D

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 143
NH, USA
ya I use notepad and matrix Y2k which is a beefed up vershion of notepad. But there should be some kind of option where "if you want" to use color syntax or not and what colors. Might be cool to have for confusing scripts.


if (Windows isin %txt.1) { /kick # $nick Windows is a badword tisk tisk tisk. }
Re: Color syntax in Remotes #83193
19/05/04 12:14 PM
19/05/04 12:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 39
Sweden
V
vague Offline
Ameglian cow
vague  Offline
Ameglian cow
V

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 39
Sweden
Well, I guess you can disagree on colors, but using notepad is just plain stupid. I could never live without regexp search'n'replaces in a text editor, for example. There is NO acceptable reason to do anything beyond the simplest of text editing tasks in notepad. The mere fact that it mangles Unix text files...



Re: Color syntax in Remotes #83194
19/05/04 01:00 PM
19/05/04 01:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Norwich, UK
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
starbucks_mafia  Offline
Hoopy frood
S

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Norwich, UK
The one thing I really can't stand about Notepad as a code editor is that it doesn't maintain indentation from line to line so you end up spending half your day pressing Tab. Which leads to my next feature suggestion for the Script Editor...


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: Color syntax in Remotes #83195
24/05/04 07:21 PM
24/05/04 07:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 143
NH, USA
D
DeathfireD Offline OP
Vogon poet
DeathfireD  Offline OP
Vogon poet
D

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 143
NH, USA
sorry I ment wordpad forgot which one was which. You got to admit though adding in some colors would make it a bit easyer to see whats going on. Maby even add in a error thing so when you write the script wrong it would show it in red and also echo it in your active window id you X'ed it out fast. Would help new people see what there doing wrong and what parts should be fixed.


if (Windows isin %txt.1) { /kick # $nick Windows is a badword tisk tisk tisk. }