mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
DCC Get works randomly #81606 02/05/04 12:02 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
B
bringerp Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
B
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Hello,

Sorry to insist, but there's one point i don't undestand.

When i connect to a fserver and get a file, the DCC works randomly... I recieved an error 2 out of 3 times. But the other times, it works !! And i have the same result with the others server...

My configuration and the server configuration seems to be correct because it works sometimes! So this is not the fault of a firewall, nor a proxy (i think).

So i don't understand why the DCC sometimes failed and sometimes works.

I installed a fserver on my own computer, and the result was the same!! it works 1 out of 3 times..!

With mIRC v5.92, i never had any problems. And it seems other people have the same problem too with v6.14.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks !

Re: DCC Get works randomly #81607 09/05/04 11:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
L
LocutusofBorg Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
Try pasting the exact error you get, mIRC almost always produces some error. It's not a problem with 6.14 tho. maybe something changed when you installed.


DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius
Re: DCC Get works randomly #81608 25/05/04 11:57 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
B
Batmanz Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
B
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Obviously mIRC 6.14 have a strange bug with DCC. I have XP, (mIRC 6.14), with firewall (ZA) and static IP (also without fserve) with same problem. And a lot of my friends too. There is also one option, to choose some else irc client if this bug keep going.. confused

Re: DCC Get works randomly #81609 26/05/04 06:15 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Also to Batmanz:

This MIGHT help:

Options > Connect > Options > 'Advanced' Button.. and tick 'Use Random Ports'


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: DCC Get works randomly #81610 27/05/04 06:01 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
B
Batmanz Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
B
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks. Sometimes it's so simple laugh