mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#8129 24/01/03 11:10 PM
S
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
S
I'm far from a mIRC expert, but I don't think I've overlooked...
I'd like to see support arrays in the script language, and maybe named collections too.

I want to avoid crappy code like this:

Code:
var %max = 3
var %i = 1
while (%i <= %max) {
  var %variable_ [ $+ [ %i ] ]
  inc %i
}

(which, I might add, violates the behaviour of most variable scoping rules in 'real' languages :tongue:)

Last edited by SubSpace; 24/01/03 11:11 PM.
#8130 25/01/03 01:53 AM
T
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
T
this is a mIRC scripting language, not "real language"
Code:
var $+(%,joke,%i) = lol

use hash tables...

Code:
//if ( khaled isgod ) echo yes | else echo no
#8131 25/01/03 02:05 AM
S
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
S
So? Just because it is a scripting language it can't have a basic feature like arrays? :P

#8132 25/01/03 05:04 AM
G
Babel fish
Babel fish
G
I don't know if ARRAYS should be added. I read somewhere that Khaled regards the mirc language most comparable to C. And this is a good thing, imo, while mIRC is easy and accessable to all, it does teach people some basic things about programming. I think this should be encouraged. I know that when I started coding a real language my past experience with mIRC benefited me a lot. If mIRC had arrays I would of took to the real language a lot faster too. I'm not saying it's khaleds job to foster up coming programmers, but i'm saying there's no harm in having a learning curve in mIRC, where newbies can go from variables - hashtables - arrays. No, it shouldn't try to evolve into a real language itself, as that is pointless . Why create something just like C and have it 1000 times slower and bound to an IRC client? So it's no more useful to newbies, and advanced programmers would use C.

#8133 25/01/03 01:57 PM
L
Ameglian cow
Ameglian cow
L