mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Autotext #78455 08/04/04 07:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
E
eestlane Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
E
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
I'm new with mirc and i have a question. Is it possible to set autotext which randomly displays text which i have set beforehand. Thx in advance.....

Re: Autotext #78456 08/04/04 08:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 129
A
AaronL Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
A
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 129
Hi eestlane. try this:

on me:*:JOIN:#:{
.timeryourmessage 0 600 .msg # $read $mircdir\your_file.txt
}

Each time you join the channel, a timer willl start to read your_file randomly and shows it in the room each 10 minutes (600)

Greetings
Aaron


Deridio fatum
Re: Autotext #78457 08/04/04 08:32 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
E
eestlane Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
E
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
sorry i'm really new with mirc. I have version 6.14. where should i copy-paste this script? I tried somethig but it didn't work, my bad probably...

Re: Autotext #78458 08/04/04 08:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 129
A
AaronL Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
A
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 129
No problem smile

click the 5e button from the left, choose REMOTE and
copy-paste the code there. click OK and the job is done.

Greetings
Aaron


Deridio fatum
Re: Autotext #78459 08/04/04 09:30 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Just a small note: your script will always send the same text to the channel because $read is evaluated once and for all when the timer is first initialized. To keep $read as an identifier which gets evaluated whenever /msg is called, use:

On me:*:join:#my_channel: .timerMSG 0 600 msg # $!read(my_file.txt,nt)

Re: Autotext #78460 09/04/04 09:15 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
E
eestlane Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
E
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
yes that's great scrpit, thx. But why does it leave a space before the text? comands can't be used that way......thx