mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
M
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Ok what I am trying to do is get my bot to message multiple people (staff of a company) on a certain command.

For example:

The command "!help" will send a message to people in a channel with "companyname" on their IRC nick.

< user1 > !help
< bot > (notice): staff has been paged
--- bot messages business-ron and business-bob --- because they have "business-" on their names.

Any help?

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 397
A
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
A
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 397
i think this is what your looking for :P

Code:
on *:text:!help:#channel: { 
  msg # (Notice) Staff has been paged
  var %total = $nick(#,0)
  var %selected = 1
  var %tag = business-

  while (%selected &lt;= %total) {
    if (%tag isin $nick(#,%selected)) { notice $nick(#,%selected) (notice) $nick Wants help }
    inc %selected 1
  }
}


Need amazing web design for low price: http://www.matrixn3t.net
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
M
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Is there nothing like

on 1:text:!help:#channel: /msg tag* $nick needs help.

I tried your script and I got the following

"(Notice) Staff has been paged var = 2 var = 1 var = business- while (%selected <="

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hi,

are you aware that when you copy a piece of code from these msg boards, and u paste them in ur mirc scripts editor,
that the text is put in one line?

Unless the script is piped to be 1 line, it will not work.

So what u need to do is put that pasted stuff in the same way as you see it here in the msg boards, in other words using multiple lines.

Greetz



Gone.
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
H
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
Or you can copy it from here into WordPad; then re-copy it from WordPad into the mIRC editor and the line breaks will be retained.


DALnet: #HelpDesk and #m[color:#FF0000]IR[color:#EEEE00]C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Thanks! I wasn't aware IE did that (since I don't use it). grin

I tested with the Netscape, Opera, and Mozilla browsers, and they do NOT put it in one line when copied from here and pasted to remotes.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink

Link Copied to Clipboard