mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
mIRC windows only in tray when active #73057
28/02/04 05:14 PM
28/02/04 05:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
K
Kraken Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
Kraken  Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
K

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
I think an option to make mIRC windows only present in tray when it's not minimized (nothing in the taskbar) would be useful and quite easy to do smile
I'm not the only one looking for it but I haven't seen a solution:
Previous post

Thanks...


Non Timetis Messor
Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73058
28/02/04 11:32 PM
28/02/04 11:32 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
S
SickRick Offline
Self-satisified door
SickRick  Offline
Self-satisified door
S

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Wouldn't it be nice if Windows just had this ability built into it? You can download applications that do it though.

I know I'd like to never see AIM or Foobar2000 or mIRC on my taskbar either... they're things that are open all the time and stay that way, so they should be on the tray, where they sit and don't move, because that's what they should be doing, now for windows that I DO need to switch around like the separate AIM conversation windows, and separate pages in browsers (still stuck on IE... waiting for tabs here!), and stuff like that is what the taskbar should be for.

Maybe Microsoft will catch on to this one day.

Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73059
29/02/04 12:39 AM
29/02/04 12:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Planetary brain
DaveC  Offline
Planetary brain
D

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
your moaning at microsoft when its not them but the aplication developers (ok MS might be one of them aas well) that havent added it in, any window can be removed or shown in the taskbar, its simply a matter of the aplication setting the properties correctly for the effect thats wanted.

Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73060
29/02/04 01:21 AM
29/02/04 01:21 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Earth Prime
N
Narusegawa_Naru Offline
Vogon poet
Narusegawa_Naru  Offline
Vogon poet
N

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Earth Prime
in all actuality no window is "placed" into the tray. the tray is nothing more than a toolbar just like the ones on a window or dialog. An application adds a button to the toolbar and when clicked (as well as other events) sends a message to the windows procedure.

Just because theres an icon in the tray does not mean alot fo resources are being used nor does it mean the application has _any_ windows at all. The only requirenment is that a process has been started (note a worker thread can also create an icon but has to be started from a process)

mIRC could add support to place windows into the tray but it could become very thick very fast. Imagine being in 10 channels all minimized except for the 10th one. I wouldnt want 9 icons in my tray.

The ability to add an icon to a hidden process (appears as tho its in the tray) can be valuable. Sometimes i minimize mIRC when im working in VS and I have alot of applications open. Even with button grouping the taskbar can become full quick. At least thats one more application not taking up real estate on my taskbar smile


Have Fun smile
Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73061
29/02/04 04:50 AM
29/02/04 04:50 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
S
SickRick Offline
Self-satisified door
SickRick  Offline
Self-satisified door
S

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Yeah DaveC but it's such a small feature, to just "minimize to tray", that Microsoft could have included it ages ago. I shouldn't need a special app to be able to manipulate all my applications like this. It should be built-in.

Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73062
01/03/04 11:21 PM
01/03/04 11:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Planetary brain
DaveC  Offline
Planetary brain
D

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Quote:
in all actuality no window is "placed" into the tray


pfffft you knew what i ment, of course you cant actually put the window IN the tray, only represent it n the tray in some way etc etc.

oh PS, what do i read later in your reply but....

Quote:
mIRC could add support to place windows into the tray


but you said..... <snicker snicker>

Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73063
02/03/04 04:22 AM
02/03/04 04:22 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Earth Prime
N
Narusegawa_Naru Offline
Vogon poet
Narusegawa_Naru  Offline
Vogon poet
N

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Earth Prime
i had no intention of starting a pissing contest with you. Some people may have actually thought that applications were actually placed in the tray. any other usage later in the post was accidental. ive learned my lesson thanks


Have Fun smile
Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73064
02/03/04 04:34 AM
02/03/04 04:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
S
saxon Offline
Fjord artisan
saxon  Offline
Fjord artisan
S

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
Quote:
Yeah DaveC but it's such a small feature, to just "minimize to tray", that Microsoft could have included it ages ago. I shouldn't need a special app to be able to manipulate all my applications like this. It should be built-in.


You are right, that would be a handly little feature for windows to have in-built.

Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73065
02/03/04 04:45 AM
02/03/04 04:45 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Planetary brain
DaveC  Offline
Planetary brain
D

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
my reply to you was ment in jest, i just couldnt resist when i saw you uses the same phasing that you correctly pointed out didnt happen as such. :-)

Re: mIRC windows only in tray when active #73066
02/03/04 05:32 AM
02/03/04 05:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Earth Prime
N
Narusegawa_Naru Offline
Vogon poet
Narusegawa_Naru  Offline
Vogon poet
N

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 195
Earth Prime
i figured as much. it wasnt until after i posteed that i realized i shouldnt have used such strong words. i figured o well ill leave it lol. its like 50 am or something here and i cant type anyway. i wasnt trying to be mean tho honestly smile


Have Fun smile