#73007 28/02/04 07:19 AM
X
xyz Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
X
Yea well,
I've been using mIRC for many years. It has always worked well, even on my old crappy machine with I started IRC'ing. Nowadays I still IRC a lot, prolly more than ever, because I am still Windows user (also) I use mIRC while IRC'ing on it. My mIRC version of course is the newest 6.12.

However some time ago I needed to IRC for a while with 5.82 version because I formatted HDDs and I found installing pack of that and decided to try it once again, kinda returning to older days just for a while (nostalgic you see) Well I was very surprised, felt so fast, even with many channels.. my computer is *just* P3 750MHz 320MB RAM (well still should be enough for IRC'ing) but 6.xx versions have felt so sticky on that when compared to 5.xx versions.

I started to compare these versions more when I again installed newest client...now I think that I downgrade and that really isn't what I usually would do with any program. Reason to this is just that 5.xx versions do with reasonable speed what they need to do. If I have more than 5 windows open on 6.xx version it becomes very sticky and selecting text is laggy. In 5.xx versions this all happens so fast without lag, still clients of both version look almost the same, only few changes in menus.

Well anyway, this isn't any whining thread, I just want to hear that have anyone else had the same experience and even stayed with 5.xx versions for that reason? I would myself stay with pleasure with 6.xx as it has for example multiserver support but the sticky acting of it when compared to 5.xx versions is really harassing me.

That's it folks, peace confused

PS. Where has that about button which makes "sounds" like "Yak!" and "nanoo nanoo" when pressed with secondary mouse button disappeared from 6.xx versions? In 5.xx versions it still existed, now I can only make smile on about button with 6.xx which is also possible on 5.xx versions crazy