mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Help, about connecting to MIRC #70350 05/02/04 08:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
hi,
I tried to connect to MIRC, but it read connection refused. yesterday it was okay, but today I've tried many times and it keeps on giving me the same message saying the connection was refused.
please advise on what I should do to solve this problem, thank you

Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70351 05/02/04 09:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
P
PastMaster Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Try a different server - select one geographically close to you from the list.

By the way, you don't connect to mIRC, you use mIRC to connect to an IRC network... contrary to popular belief, IRC has been around longer than the mIRC client...

PM


IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70352 05/02/04 09:47 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
you know what... I'm very stupid at irc stuff lol
where can I select to connect to somewhere else? thanks

Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70353 05/02/04 09:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
P
PastMaster Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
No problem, we all started by knowing nothing! grin

If, when you open mIRC, you get the connect dialog (which asks for your nick and everything), press that weird coloured star to get to the server selection bit.

Otherwise, in mIRC, press Alt-E to select a server, or select File/Select Server from the drop down menu.

Hope this helps

PM


IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70354 05/02/04 10:22 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
thanks, I went to those places but unfortunately there was nothing for me to select.
how can I add a server? thanks again

Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70355 05/02/04 05:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Click on the word 'Add' in that same dialog. The IRC server is where the server address goes (i.e. irc.server.com), you can leave the port as '6667' and the group is what it will appear in the drop down list. You don't need to fill out the description if you don't want to, and unless the server is password protected (you'd know if it was or not) you don't need a password.

You don't actually *need* to add a server to that list in order to connect. If you know the server name, then simply use /server irc.server.here and mIRC will connect to IRC. For a list of servers, try the network's website, they often have the servers listed. If you don't know the network's web address put the network's name in www.google.com and it should come up with it.

Usually servers will have the country code in the server name *if* the server is in that area (so you can connect to a closer server geographically). For example, a European server might have .eu in it, like DALnet's powertech server is powertech.no.eu.dal.net. If it doesn't have that, the servers are probably grouped, and you could just do /server uk.network.com (like uk.dal.net) or /server us.network.net (for an American server) and so on. If no servers match your state/country then just try the closest one (so if there's no .ca (Canada) servers, try a .us (United States) server).

G'luck smile

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70356 05/02/04 06:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
P
PastMaster Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
If there is really *nothing* there, then it sounds like you need to download servers.ini file from this website! (Specifically, HERE). Put this file in your main mIRC directory/folder and then try again.

PM


IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70357 05/02/04 10:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
thanks for all the help but... it still says
unable to resolve server

::>_<:: I'm very stupid at these codes scripts whatever else things, I'm sorry I can't figure it out, I even tried downloading the "servers.ini" file but it already exists and after replacing it, it still doesn't work...

thanks please help again -_-

Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70358 06/02/04 05:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
anyone please help?

Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70359 06/02/04 07:28 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
P
PastMaster Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Unable to resolve server means that there was either a DNS problem somewhere between you and the server, or that the server you chose is down/closed/no longer exists.

The only solution is to try a different server.

PM


IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70360 06/02/04 08:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
it still doesn't work... I tried to uninstall it, I was able to connect to an european server but for a few specific ones, it still read "connection refused". was I banned or something?
thanks...

Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70361 06/02/04 04:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
P
PastMaster Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Connection refused is not the same as a ban. It just means that that server does not want users from your ISP and/or country (for whatever reason).

Glad you found some servers you could connect to though!

Just a thought - if you're on IRCnet and you're in Europe, you *WILL* have to use a server geographically close to (and preferably in the same country as) you. None of the others will want you.

PM


IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
Re: Help, about connecting to MIRC #70362 06/02/04 08:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
G
GTE Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
I reside in canada, though I'm pretty near the boarder of US and Canada. 2 days ago I can still connect to all the servers... but now I can't connect to all the servers! the euro server I mentioned that I connected to had now freaked out and refuses my connection too. what can I do? there must be some other solution for users with this kind of trouble... please
thank you very much