mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#62571 02/12/03 12:31 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
E
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
E
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Hey folks,

I have a support bot, that when a user joins our support chat, and PM's the bot with their question (support channel is +m), the bot relays their message to our staff channel. We then type @take nick and the bot voices the user in the channel.

Unfortunelly, if the nick is not typed right, the user is not voiced. Its purely a mode $chan +v $1..

Is there an easy way to assign the person a number when they PM the bot? SO all we have to do is type @take number instead of their nicks?

#62572 02/12/03 01:34 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
If your fellows are too lazy to type (or paste) a whole nickname, you can make their life easier by allowing wildcards (ie. @take *nick*). The command would be:
  • var %user = $line(#helpchan,$fline(#helpchan,$2,1,1),1)
    mode #helpchan +v %user
In case you're interested, see here a sample ID system that is pre-configured for the channels #staff and #helpchan. If you have any questions about it, feel free to ask here.

#62573 02/12/03 01:49 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
E
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
E
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
its not that were lazy, but too busy to waste our time. ANd we deal with Gaming Clans a lot, so typing those long ass names can be a real pain. Thanks for your help, btw smile

#62574 02/12/03 12:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
you could fill a var called something like %support. [ $+ [ %idnumber ] ] with the nick (%support.1 would be SomeNick), /msg a staff with "help number %idnumber", and after that do an inc %idnumber to keep the idnumber unique. you can even see how many people were helped with this system ;-]

then when someone types @take 1, you /unset the %support. [ $+ [ $2 ] ] ...

get it?


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
#62575 02/12/03 02:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
This is pretty much what my sample system does, but with a hash table laugh

#62576 02/12/03 02:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 774
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 774
tab complete is quite handy sometimes, learn your friends how to use it


Code:
//if ( khaled isgod ) echo yes | else echo no
#62577 02/12/03 03:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 30
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 30
after reading the problem, the users are on another chan than the staff, so that won't work


------
Cheers m8!
#62578 02/12/03 04:22 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 774
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 774
oh yeah... stupid system =)


Code:
//if ( khaled isgod ) echo yes | else echo no

Link Copied to Clipboard