mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Can I install mIRC twice? #61748 25/11/03 10:16 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
T
ToolBand Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
I want to be able to have an installation of mirc with scripts that I use, installed, and another one without scripts for basic chatting, is this possible?

Thanks.

Re: Can I install mIRC twice? #61749 25/11/03 10:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
S
Skip Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
Yep. You can either install mirc in another directory (you can use the mirc installer or simply copy and paste the mirc.exe [and mirc.hlp if you want]), installing twice may have some sideeffects on registry settings (not sure, but it may overwrite the earlier versions entry in the "add/remove programs" control panel) and shortcuts, none of these seem major though.

You can also use the -i<ini.file> command line parameter (just make a shortcut with the parameters) to have the same mirc run different configurations (scripts, nicks etc.) with multiple instances of your mirc.exe - which will save a little disk space and clutter. See /help command line for more information.

Hope that helps. smile