mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
new mirc bug????? #61741 25/11/03 08:03 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
C
CoPyL3fT Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
C
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
hi,
i was chatting today when i experience that my mirc hanged. after a while, it got back to normal. then it hanged again and the whole computer hangged. then i rebooted and tried to open my mirc again, but it say the the mirc.exe is missing. when i went to the mirc folder... i saw nothing but mlink32.exe and download, logs and sounds folder.

what happened? is this a new and worst bug?

Re: new mirc bug????? #61742 25/11/03 08:55 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
B
Biezais Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
B
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
I think, you have trojans or viruses on system.

Re: new mirc bug????? #61743 25/11/03 09:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
S
Skip Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
Try downloading a newer version of mirc from the download section (mlink32.exe hasn't been included in mirc for a long time). Are you running any scripts?

How did it 'say' mirc is missing? Are you opening mirc from a shortcut?

Re: new mirc bug????? #61744 28/11/03 04:55 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
C
CoPyL3fT Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
C
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
i updated my norton 2k3 pro and scanned my system and there no viruses or trojans. and im using mirc 6.12

Re: new mirc bug????? #61745 28/11/03 06:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
there are some trojans that fake onboard scanners into thinking they arent there, wouldnt hurt to try one of the free online scanners like housecall at www.trendmicro.com since they can be better at finding irc related nasties


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: new mirc bug????? #61746 28/11/03 03:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 85
K
katsklaw Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
K
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 85
Also remember that there is no such thing as an anti-virus program that can catch ALL virii. Regardless of which you use it's best to double check with a second or even third program. IMO Norton just don't cut it, I've personally seen other apps pick up on virii that have been installed almost instantly that norton should have caught but never did.

PM if your interested in a URL, but I use AVG (yes it's free) and PC-cillin's houscall.


--

katsklaw
Rather experienced Admin
Rather experienced mIRC Scripter
Amateur C Coder
Re: new mirc bug????? #61747 29/11/03 01:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Btw, there is no such word as "virii", the plural of "virus" is "viruses" smile


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com