mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Connecting to Networks not listed in mIRC? #60377 15/11/03 07:18 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
I
Iceflow Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
How do I connect to a Network that isnt listed in mIRC?

Last edited by Iceflow; 15/11/03 07:39 AM.
Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60378 15/11/03 07:27 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
sh0cknock Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Alt + O to options dialog...
Under Connect.. Servers click the add button.
Insert your information here.
Of course you can always use /server <yourserver>


Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60379 15/11/03 07:41 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
I
Iceflow Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
I know how to connect to servers Im asking how to connect to NETWORKS that arent listed in mIRC!

Why not just click on the options icon in the toolbar instead of alt+o LMAO

Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60380 15/11/03 07:44 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
If you took the time to read, and dropped the attitude, they told you how to add a server of your choice to the list to connect to, thus joining a server not in the mirc list as per request. Try comprehending what you read next time, and drop the attitude to those whom help you.


-KingTomato
Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60381 15/11/03 07:59 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
I
Iceflow Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
OK, my mistake. I didnt think that networks and servers would be the same thing.

@THe Tomato Guy
What attitude would that be?
I find it funny that people would use alt+o when you can just click on the toolbar. I suggest you calm down a bit fella no need to get worked up!

@Anyone
How do you script a perform command for a server that isnt listed in mIRC?

Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60382 15/11/03 08:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
I
Iceflow Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
How do I script perform commands....
Never mind, now that I know networks and servers are the same I can just edit the .ini files

Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60383 15/11/03 10:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Some scripts edit the toolbar, some people don't have it. It is alot easier to say alt+o than to describe every other way of getting into the options.

Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60384 15/11/03 11:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Quote:
I find it funny that people would use alt+o when you can just click on the toolbar.

- Well besides being easier to explain on a forum, using a keyboard is also much faster than using a mouse. That's why they're called 'keyboard shortcuts', whereas you'll never find something which uses 'mouse shortcuts' wink.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60385 15/11/03 06:46 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Networks and servers are not the same thing. Servers are interconnected to make up a network. However, when you connect to a server of a network you are effectively connecting to that network. You cannot connect to a "network" directly, you have to connect to one of the networks servers smile (Read it three times, maybe it'll become less confusing...maybe *G*). For example, Surrey.UK.EU.Undernet.Org is an Undernet server but Undernet is the name of the network.

You can connect to server pools also, which are IRC addresses that have several servers connected to them. For example, "irc.dal.net" would connect to any IRC server on DALnet (provided the server is open to normal users). Likewise, "uk.dal.net" would connect to any server based in the UK on the DALnet network.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60386 16/11/03 01:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Iori Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
/server <network>
mIRC will choose one of the servers in that group from servers.ini. smile

Re: Connecting Networks not listed in mIRC? #60387 16/11/03 01:55 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Yes, but he wants to connect to one which isn't listed in the mIRC list - I used DALnet/Undernet as examples simply because I didn't know of any private networks which aren't listed heh.

Tankya though smile

Regards,


Mentality/Chris