mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Trace cmd #58567 31/10/03 10:18 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
B
bunar Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
when executing /trace do i need to add some address
like /trace someaddr.somenet.com ?

or it just shows hops from my host (or i just need to type /trace with no addr) ?

Re: Trace cmd #58568 31/10/03 02:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
There is no mirc command "/trace". Try asking the author(s) of the script or looking in the code. Also, trace requires a destination, as you cannot trace an unspecified path.


-KingTomato
Re: Trace cmd #58569 31/10/03 02:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
B
bunar Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
itz server side not script side 0.o

Re: Trace cmd #58570 31/10/03 07:23 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 215
lammkott Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 215
As far as I know, on servers where /trace isn't restricted to IRCops, you can specify either /trace <nickname> or /trace blah.address.com

But I have no way of testing it, the servers I connected to have it restricted


- Jason
Re: Trace cmd #58571 01/11/03 01:37 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
S
Skip Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
trace's behaviour varies from different servers, however it is designed to 'trace' the path to a specific nick or server (and show you delays in between each server), so its usually best used with those parameters (eg: /trace bunar or /trace services.server).

Many servers restrict this command to IRC operators now though.