mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
CTCP Resume bug #549 09/12/02 11:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 20
G
genderchanger Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 20
i don't know if this just happens when you try to send a file to yourself, but when i send me a file (i was testing a script) i got this:

CTCP: GenderChanger - DCC RESUME file.ext 38142 12288
DCC Resume from GenderChanger rejected (invalid parameters)

instead of the real filename, mirc sent a "file.ext"

even if it is not a bug, can someone explain me what the problem is?

Re: CTCP Resume bug #550 09/12/02 12:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
S
Skip Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
What version of mIRC are you running, and were you sending between the same client? (or did you open a second mIRC?)

The "file.ext" only exists to maintain backwards compatibility with older clients, as it is redundant. That is, the clients don't have to send the filename back and forth to each other, as the port allows them to identify what file they're talking about (one port per number, per machine, hence the port number is unique to the sendee machine).

I have got this problem once, and when I tried to reproduce it it was gone. If the problem still persists, it might be helpful to paste the full dcc negotiation.

Hope that helps. smile

Re: CTCP Resume bug #551 09/12/02 12:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 20
G
genderchanger Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 20
i'm running 6.03, and i was sending in one client

i don't know where to get more information about the transfer, but i can reproduce the problem as often as i want.

i'm behind a router to add that, and i haven't my dcc ports forwarded, but normally on dcc sends i get "unable to connect"

Re: CTCP Resume bug #552 09/12/02 12:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
S
Skip Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
type /debug -p @debug, then start(or attempt) the transfer as normal and copy/paste the output.

This might be mirc doing a little sanity checking (IP is bad? Resume range > File size etc.).

Re: CTCP Resume bug #553 10/12/02 09:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 17
S
Sojourn Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 17
The filename in the RESUME CTCP is purely a placeholder. mIRC uses the IP and Port to figure out which DCC it is resuming, and ignores that parameter.

What is breaking your DCC resumes is your firewall/router software. It has a module loaded that intercepts DCC CTCPs and changes the IP/Port to that of the firewall, so that the person you are sending to connects to it instead of trying to connect to your inaccessable private IP. When the recipient requests a RESUME, the IP and Port included in the request are that of the firewall/router, not your local machine, so they don't match up with any of mIRC's pending transfers, causing the 'invalid parameters' rejection. Either disable this module/feature on your firewall/router and use static port forwarding, or update your firewall/router software with a version that corrects the RESUME bug.

Re: CTCP Resume bug #554 16/01/03 06:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
C
Charmaine_Fan Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
C
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
I have a gvc (gnet) ip0006 internet gateway, and I get the same problem. I can't disable the module nor does my company have a firmware upgrade, what else can I do the get rid of this problem?

Thanks

Re: CTCP Resume bug #555 13/02/03 06:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2
R
revo Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
R
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2
why my modem zyxel parks prestige 642r-11 only send files with lookup method normal? and resume don't work?
i see others dsl modens and these modens send files with lookup method server
obs.: others programs send and resume files as ftp, icq, kazaa and others.

Last edited by revo; 13/02/03 06:08 PM.
Re: CTCP Resume bug #556 13/10/03 09:54 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 5
T
Tank Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 5
I solved this problem on my Zyxel Zywall by setting
ip nat service irc off


Tank @ irc.scifi-fans.net
Re: CTCP Resume bug #557 06/03/04 03:55 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
B
bryan09 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
If I am using a U.S. Robotics Broadband Router (Model # USR8000, Version V1.23), what should I check for?

Re: CTCP Resume bug #558 07/06/04 04:07 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
M
MrGuga Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
M
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
ok, i tried everything i found here and everywhere else... upgrading firmware, disabling firewall... messed up with my router configuration about 3 times... (and it was hard to get it up again). and here is what i got:
my adsl modem is a zyxel prestige 642r (router) working with PPPoE, i had all ports forwarded by SUA and still someway, my outgoing DCC SENDs were having the ports somewhat changed into sth near 10000-14000, no matter what...

analyzing that this could be a router funcion somewhat like a NAT, and as i didnt found a way to disable it, i started thinking to throw it out by the window, using it as a bed warmer or sth like that....

but than i though... HTF could my router detect mirc's DCC send command?? well.. it usually goes out by port 6667... so, if there is anything with syntax "DCC SEND filename ip port size" stuff, it could possibly detect it and change port name...
WHAT IF I WERE TO BE CONNECTED TO THE IRC SERVER AT PORT 7000 (for example?)

tadaaaaa
no more chaning ports... DCC RESUME WORKS!!! now the port that is sent, is the same that i receive in the DCC RESUME command

i hope this topic can help someone....

i have not tested other ports, as i spent the last 7 hours trying to fix this, maybe every port except 6667 willl work... if someone tests it, please post results

Re: CTCP Resume bug #559 27/07/04 12:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
I
ignition Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
I
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
wad if tt irc network only opens 6667 ?

Re: CTCP Resume bug #560 29/07/04 12:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
J
JJ180 Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
J
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
I have had exactly the same problem. Tearing my hair out. Resume working on one network and channel but not on others. Eventually my Googling turned up this, and now after connecting to the problem server using 6669 instead of the previous 6667 all my problems are solved. The resume that failed about half a dozen times is now finishing off nicely. I'm still not sure why connecting to the server using 6669 instead of 6667 would make any difference, I still have the same ports forwarded and haven't changed anything else, but the proof is in the pudding as they say, and it's relief enough that it's working.
Cheers!

Re: CTCP Resume bug #561 30/07/04 04:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
J
JJ180 Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
J
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
I've just been having problems when connected to port 6668 as well. Same network as before. Force it back onto 6669 and problems solved and my resume works again. And it isn't coincidence. 3 failed resumes when connected on 6668, followed by a perfect resume after connecting on 6669.

Re: CTCP Resume bug #562 09/01/06 02:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
M
mystik Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
M
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Hellow, I know this is a really old post, but I have this problem. I'm trying to connct in port 6669, it works, but my client can't resume.

Could you help me please.

Thanks

Last edited by mystik; 09/01/06 02:06 AM.
Re: CTCP Resume bug #563 09/03/06 10:31 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
T
teohhanhui Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
T
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
how do i solve this?

someone please help, thanks!