mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Need some help Upgrading from Mirc 6.03 to 6.12 #54413 13/10/03 11:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
O
ozzy45 Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
O
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
I want to upgrade because of the new exploit that is going around but I am using sysreset 2.53 as my script which is using the 6.03 ver. of mirc. I was wondering if anyone could please tell me how to upgrade my mirc to ver 6.12 without deleting or loosing any of my settings on my sysreset scritp?

Please help. Thanks in advance

Re: Need some help Upgrading from Mirc 6.03 to 6.12 #54414 13/10/03 11:14 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
copy your scripts to the clipboard in case the install goes wrong, then on the installer check save existing mirc settings.


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Need some help Upgrading from Mirc 6.03 to 6.12 #54415 13/10/03 11:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
O
ozzy45 Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
O
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Would it be possible for me to just copy over the new mirc exe file and overwrite the old exe since the exploit is not using any of the external modules like the .ini files?

Re: Need some help Upgrading from Mirc 6.03 to 6.12 #54416 13/10/03 11:59 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
yes but then you dont have an updated versions.txt or an updated help file wink


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Need some help Upgrading from Mirc 6.03 to 6.12 #54417 14/10/03 01:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
M
moho Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Yes ozzy, that's that I always do: install mirc into a new directory (e.g. c:\mirc\mirc612\) then just copy over mirc.exe and mirc.hlp. Now you've upgraded without any risk of overwriting script files or settings.