mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Dialog Links #51887 29/09/03 01:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
O
ozyvent Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
O
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
How can I make a dialog link open a website e.g. www.mirc.com?


.
Re: Dialog Links #51888 29/09/03 01:27 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
R
r0ck0 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
In dialog table (from mirc.hlp)
link "text", id, x y w h


Re: Dialog Links #51889 29/09/03 01:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
O
ozyvent Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
O
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
yeah I figured that much...
this is what i have in the dialog:
Code:
  link "Further help",       604, 100  29  96  10, tab600

but how do i make it open a link when it's clicked? if at all possible..


.
Re: Dialog Links #51890 29/09/03 01:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
link host,ID , x y w h


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: Dialog Links #51891 29/09/03 01:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
R
r0ck0 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
link "Further help", 604, 100 29 96 10, tab600

on *:DIALOG:name:sclick:604:run http://www.mirc.com

your dialog table name here

Last edited by r0ck0; 29/09/03 01:41 PM.
Re: Dialog Links #51892 29/09/03 01:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
O
ozyvent Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
O
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
shocked i had open... didn't think of run..

Thanks grin grin


.
Re: Dialog Links #51893 29/09/03 01:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
R
r0ck0 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
yw smile

Re: Dialog Links #51894 29/09/03 01:52 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
if you want to open the site in a new window, give a path to your browser.

i use: /run iexplore http://somesite.com


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Dialog Links #51895 29/09/03 02:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
/run iexplore is also a better method as if you use a link such as bleh.com, run will not detect it as a link--iexplore will.

/run http://www.google.com - will work
/run www.google.com - will work
/run google.com - nope
/run 192.168.1.100 - nope

Just a more secure method >:D


-KingTomato
Re: Dialog Links #51896 29/09/03 03:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Or just use /url, followed by the -n switch for a new window.

Re: Dialog Links #51897 29/09/03 03:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
You still end up with using mirc's set browser, not your default, with run, u can specify the browser


-KingTomato
Re: Dialog Links #51898 29/09/03 03:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Doesn't /url launch your system's default browser? (I can't test here because we only have IE)

Re: Dialog Links #51899 29/09/03 03:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
I looked in help, and there is no reference to the "Default" browser. I might assume it does as the "Default browser bug" was fixed in 6.1, but thats not to say it still might not use the default with /url.


-KingTomato
Re: Dialog Links #51900 30/09/03 02:51 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
cold Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
It uses the default browser. Also, since it was made for that, I wouldn't use /run.


* cold edits his posts 24/7
Re: Dialog Links #51901 30/09/03 01:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
i wouldn't use url now, but i would if it was 6.03 or earlier where i might assume it doesn't use default browser


-KingTomato