mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Auto update #43366 21/08/03 06:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I have seen in other scripts where u can click on a button in the script and it will ckeck to see if there are updates. How would i go about makeing something like this. I have tried somethings but it did not work Like I tried to uplaod a text file to my web hosting and then i tried to have my script read that text file to tell it what it says in the text file but i could not get it to work any help would be great for this

Re: Auto update #43367 21/08/03 06:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
The easiest way would probably be to look at the code for a script that does exactly what you want to do.

Re: Auto update #43368 21/08/03 06:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
here is what i tried and it does not work
Code:
 
dialog update {
  title Update Panel
  size -1 -1 400 500

  button "Ok" ,1, 0 475 75 25,ok
  button "Clear" ,3, 75 475 75 25

  Edit "" ,2, 5 3 390 470,read,multi
}
on *:dialog:update:sclick:3:{
  /did -ra update 2 $dname $read(http://www.area51script.fairmount.nu/update.txt)
}


I tried to find the scripts that did the updates I found one but it was done in a dll file and I don't know how to work with dll files
 

Re: Auto update #43369 21/08/03 06:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
We cannot write a script for you however, best place to start would be..

/help Sockets
/help /sockwrite
/help /sockaccept
/help /sockopen
/help /sockclose
/help /sockmark
/help /socklis
/help /sockrename

and the events..

on SOCKCLOSE
on SOCKOPEN
on SOCKLISTEN
on SOCKREAD
on SOCKWRITE


As for the buttons, I assume you meant dialogs..
Code:
dialog updates.script {
  title "Updates script!"
  size -1 -1 110 100
  option dbu
  button  "Get updates!", 1, 30 50 50 24, ok tab 1
}

on 1:dialog:updates.script:sclick:1: {
  /help Sockets
}

on 1:dialog:updates.script:init:*: {
  echo -a What commands you want to perform before dialog opens
}

For more information

/help Dialogs
/help on Dialog
/help /Did
/help /Didtok


I hope this helps you in some way. grin

Re: Auto update #43370 21/08/03 06:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
You need to use sockets to read from a website.
Look at my first post..
There are some great tutorials Here, Here and Here.

Re: Auto update #43371 21/08/03 07:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
is there any other way of doing this or does it have to be done my sockets

Re: Auto update #43372 21/08/03 07:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
K
KoRn18 Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
dont get me wrong you need to learn sockets but mess with this:
Code:

on 1:SOCKOPEN:ver: {
  if ($sockerr > 0) return
  sockwrite -n $sockname GET /version.txt HTTP/1.1
  sockwrite -n $sockname Host: host.com
  sockwrite -n $sockname Connection: keep-alive
  sockwrite $sockname $crlf
  if ($isFile(data.txt)) .remote data.txt
}
on 1:SOCKREAD:ver: {
  sockread -f &data
  bwrite data.txt -1 -1 &data
  ; speeds up things so we dont have to wait for the socket to close..
  .timerver 1 1 siver.close
}
alias ver.close {
  if ($isFile(data.txt)) {
    var %lastline = $read(data.txt, $lines(data.txt))
    .remove data.txt
  }
  else var %lastline = Could not download file.
  did -ra versioncheck 1 %lastline
}
alias checkver { sockopen ver host.com 80 }


_________
may death strike you.
Re: Auto update #43373 21/08/03 07:41 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I think I am starting to get this but how would i go about starting this code would I open the socket to my hosting server or is there some othere way to start it

Re: Auto update #43374 21/08/03 07:43 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
K
KoRn18 Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
yeah change the info..... BE SURE TO LEAVE SLASHES AS THEY ARE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

and type /checkver

if u need more help, its all customized
Code:
alias checkver { sockopen ver area51script.fairmount.nu 80 }
on 1:SOCKOPEN:ver: {
  if ($sockerr > 0) return
  sockwrite -n $sockname GET /update.txt HTTP/1.1
  sockwrite -n $sockname Host: area51script.fairmount.nu
  sockwrite -n $sockname Connection: keep-alive
  sockwrite $sockname $crlf
  if ($isFile(data.txt)) .remote data.txt
}
on 1:SOCKREAD:ver: {
  sockread -f &data
  bwrite data.txt -1 -1 &data
  ; speeds up things so we dont have to wait for the socket to close..
  .timerver 1 1 siver.close
}
alias ver.close {
  if ($isFile(data.txt)) {
    var %lastline = $read(data.txt, $lines(data.txt))
    .remove data.txt
  }
  else var %lastline = Could not download file.
  did -ra versioncheck 1 %lastline
}


_________
may death strike you.
Re: Auto update #43375 21/08/03 07:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
i keep getting this error

/did: invalid parameters (line 35, errormsgs)

here is the code that i have copyed and changed what did I do wrong


Code:
 
on 1:SOCKREAD:update: {
  sockread -f &data
  bwrite update.txt -1 -1 &data  
  ; speeds up things so we dont have to wait for the socket to close..  
  .timerver 1 1 update.close
}
alias update.close {
  if ($isFile(update.txt)) {
    var %lastline = $read(update.txt, $lines(update.txt))
    .remove update.txt
  } 
  else update %lastline = Could not download file.
  did -ra versioncheck 1 %lastline
}
alias checkver { sockopen update host.com 80 }

 

Re: Auto update #43376 21/08/03 07:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
K
KoRn18 Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
you have to customise the did -ra versioncheck 1 statement

you butchered the code, use the last example i gave you and just change the did part


_________
may death strike you.
Re: Auto update #43377 21/08/03 08:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
ok I am very new to sockets but what am I to change in the did part to?

Re: Auto update #43378 21/08/03 08:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
K
KoRn18 Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
post the dialog your using


_________
may death strike you.
Re: Auto update #43379 21/08/03 09:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
Code:
 

dialog update {
  title Update Panel
  size -1 -1 400 500

  button "Ok" ,1, 0 475 75 25,ok
  button "Clear" ,3, 75 475 75 25

  Edit "" ,2, 5 3 390 470,read,multi
}

 

Re: Auto update #43380 21/08/03 09:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
If your dialog is called update, why are you trying to use /did on a dialog called versioncheck?

Re: Auto update #43381 21/08/03 09:16 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
hes not


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Auto update #43382 21/08/03 09:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
I
Iceman0145 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
this things is still not working I think I give up on it I will come back to it later thanks for all the help from everybody

Re: Auto update #43383 21/08/03 09:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
K
KoRn18 Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 148
make sure the dialog is opened first!!!!
Code:
alias checkver { sockopen ver area51script.fairmount.nu 80 }
on 1:SOCKOPEN:ver: {
  if ($sockerr > 0) return
  sockwrite -n $sockname GET /update.txt HTTP/1.1
  sockwrite -n $sockname Host: area51script.fairmount.nu
  sockwrite -n $sockname Connection: keep-alive
  sockwrite $sockname $crlf
  if ($isFile(data.txt)) .remote data.txt
}
on 1:SOCKREAD:ver: {
  sockread -f &data
  bwrite data.txt -1 -1 &data
  ; speeds up things so we dont have to wait for the socket to close..
  .timerver 1 1 siver.close
}
alias ver.close {
  if ($isFile(data.txt)) {
    var %lastline = $read(data.txt, $lines(data.txt))
    .remove data.txt
  }
  else var %lastline = Could not download file.
  did -ra update 2 %lastline
}


_________
may death strike you.
Re: Auto update #43384 21/08/03 09:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
yes he is ... read the code

did -ra versioncheck 1 %lastline

somethings not kosher there


D3m0nnet.com
Re: Auto update #43385 21/08/03 09:26 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
this person doesnt seem to have much experience in scriping(sorry if i thought wrong), so please remove the [code ] and [/code ] tags, as they cause an odd problem with the lines and brackets.


new username: tidy_trax
Page 1 of 2 1 2