mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
C
Cirocco Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Hey there,

Well, I've used mIRC a lot in the past, but I stopped for a while and went around to check out some other chats like Yahoo! and MSN.. But now I'm back to mIRC again.. but I'm having some problems. I can't seem to connect to ANY server. I've read all the help files, and the posts in the connectivity areas and tried all of it. Nothing seems to be working, and I still can't connect to any of the IRC servers. I've tried about 20 different ones now.. and I've been trying to connect to ANYTHING.. for about a week now. If anyone has a magicwand, or words of wisdom I would be very greatful.


-Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart-
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
what error msg are you getting? without knowing the error, we could only guess. have you checked to be sure the servers you are trying are currently linked? tried different server ports? tried connecting to the ip instead of the domain?


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
C
Cirocco Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
"You seem to be having trouble connecting to an IRC server. The message that appeared said : 'Unable to connect to IRC server'. "

That's what I keep getting no matter what I try. And yes I've tried connecting to the IP, and changing all my setting, and everything else that's already been suggested in the help section, the FAQs, and the message boards.


-Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart-
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
R
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
That isnt really the error message, disable that. Do you see something like
[12:12:39] * Unable to resolve server
or
[12:12:55] * Unable to connect (Connection refused)

Also are you using a fresh version of mIRC?
Are you behind a firewall or router? If so, did you set the DMZ or port forward the necessary ports to connect?

Just possible common errors that crossed my mind...

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
file/options/connect/options click on the RETRY button. Increase the line "if not connected in ____ secs" to 60 (if its already at 60, increase a bit more)

check your firewall/router/etc and be sure you arent blocking mIRC or ports 6660-6669, 7000-7001 and 113.

check to be sure you have filled in the info at file/options/connect. look under local info and let us know what you see in the two long boxes and what you have checked. If you have normal, change it to server and try or viceversa.

Close the connect dialog and in your status window type:
/server kernel.dal.net

if no luck, try: /server 209.82.160.19



ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
C
Cirocco Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
* Unable to connect (Connection timed out)

Is what I get for everything, and no I'm not behind a firewall. Also, I have the newest version of mIRC.

Thanks for your help though.


-Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart-
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
C
Cirocco Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
* Unable to resolve server

Is what I get when I try and connect to the server that you have given me.. Again I don't have a firewall, and I'm still getting the same problems.. I have tried all sorts of things with those two boxes that you told me about.. and nothing it working.. right now the time out is at 60 seconds.. but I'll push that up some and see if that helps.

Right now the two local boxes are blank, and they usually set themselves back to being black.. I've tried putting in my IP and a Local address.. but that doesn't seem to work either.. I really don't know what's going on.

Thanks.


-Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart-
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 83
A
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
A
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 83
Quote:
if no luck, try: /server 209.82.160.19

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
C
Cirocco Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Umm.. yeah.. I believe that I already stated that I tried all the suggestions.. but thank you for restating the obvious.. >.>;



-Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart-
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 83
A
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
A
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 83
Unable to resolve server usually means it cannot resolve DNS, and just to double check you cannot connect to any network? And you don't have any proxy that you connect to to get to the internet?

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
I was hoping if you got unable to resolve server with the kernel.dal.net that the ip version of it would work since that error usually means a dns prob someplace. Here's another domain/ip to try when you're testing just in case kernel has any probs:
/server b0rk.uk.quakenet.org
/server 213.221.165.248

I gather the change from getting nowhere to getting the unable to resolve server happened when you changed between normal and server or increased the time out to give it more time? Increasing the time out in seconds wont help with that msg tho. If you manually put in your local host and ip addy, try unchecking the boxes under "on connect always get". Beyond that, it wouldnt hurt to check with your provider to get the correct local host and ip addies, as well as to see if they have others with the same problem.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
C
Cirocco Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
I just tried both the addresses you left me, and niether would allow me to connect either. And you're right about the change in message, after fiddling around a while with the options that you told me to, that's when I got that second message, but I still can't seem to connect to any server.


-Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart-

Link Copied to Clipboard