mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
ftp #39416 03/08/03 03:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
does someone have an old ftp upload script laying around?
i need to be able to login, and upload just one file (and over write the old file) to the main directory and disconnec\


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39417 03/08/03 08:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
use a batch file..

[ftpupload.bat]
@ECHO OFF
FTP
OPEN <location>
<password>
STOR <filename>
QUIT


laugh


-KingTomato
Re: ftp #39418 03/08/03 10:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
where do i put login name?
i tried running it and it just says ftp>
anything i type is invalid command......

this cant be done in mirc using sockets?? mirc needs it....

Last edited by MTec89; 03/08/03 10:33 PM.

http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39419 03/08/03 11:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
login and write down all the commands you use when you go throguh dos. Then in a batch file put all thos commands in the order you used them. then when u want to upload it, execute the batch file.


-KingTomato
Re: ftp #39420 03/08/03 11:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
i dont use dos i use bulletproof ftp client so idk what the commands are


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39421 03/08/03 11:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Start>>run "cmd"

type:

FTP
OPEN ftp.<site>.com

(you'll be asked for name & password)

<name>
<password>

(now you'll come to a prompt FTP>. Here you use the STAR command to send the filename)

STOR <filename>

(it will then send the fine (i believe in binary mode) Then use QUIT to close the FTP and EXIT to leave dos)

QUIT
EXIT


-KingTomato
Re: ftp #39422 03/08/03 11:59 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
first off cmd is for 2k/xp i have win 98

and i got everything except i cant figure out the STOR command


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39423 04/08/03 12:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
try "help" in the ftp prompt


-KingTomato
Re: ftp #39424 04/08/03 12:12 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
i dont understand this i could only get the ftp promt to show once

now all it does is send the blinging cursor to the next line and it just acts like its busy, but it isnt doing anything


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39425 04/08/03 01:06 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
C:\Work>ftp -help
  • Displays command-line parameters
C:\Work>ftp
ftp> help
  • Displays valid FTP commands
Also, have a look at this tutorial.

Re: ftp #39426 04/08/03 01:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
ftp -help didnt work either


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39427 04/08/03 01:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
I'm on win98 too, and the above worked fine. What's the error message you get?

Re: ftp #39428 04/08/03 01:15 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
no error, it just doesnt do anything when i type ftp


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39429 04/08/03 01:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Start -> Run -> command

Now a DOS window is open, and you have a c:\folder> prompt. Type ftp -help. What is displayed on the screen?

Re: ftp #39430 04/08/03 01:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
rofl...im not stupid.

it just does not do anything after i hit return

ok a -few- restarts fixed it, heres what i get http://matrixn3t.net/mtec89/ftpdos.png

Last edited by MTec89; 04/08/03 01:54 AM.

http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39431 04/08/03 03:12 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
so what command do i use?


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39432 04/08/03 03:40 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Check out the tutorial, it explains how to upload a file using ftp.exe.

Re: ftp #39433 04/08/03 03:54 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
i dont understand what command uploads the file


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: ftp #39434 04/08/03 04:42 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Online Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
put filename - enclose file in quotes if it contains spaces. For example, put "c:\program files\file.txt".

Re: ftp #39435 04/08/03 06:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
My mistake. I mean put, not stor. Stor is server side, rather than client.


-KingTomato