mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#38422 - 26/07/03 04:39 PM Country Locator - Part 2
Cyber_Axe Offline
Babel fish

Registered: 26/12/02
Posts: 60
Loc: Scotland
i know a guy with a bot that can find someones IP address (whch is not obtainable through the whois info and such) and then can use that to detect what country they are in does anyone know how to do this?

i asked him how the bot did it but all he said was "it follows the packets through the line" and wouldnt show me the script

i have also seen some bots that can find out the weather for a certain country and location within that country and such anyone know of scripts to do this too and or similar things?

Top
#38423 - 26/07/03 04:42 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
naki Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 24/02/03
Posts: 143
Loc: Florida
if he could really do it then he was probably an admin at the server because they are they only ones I know that can get an IP from whois information. Most servers usually mask IP's on connect so normal users cant collect IP's.
_________________________
We don't just write the scripts, we put them to the test! (ScriptBusters)

Top
#38424 - 26/07/03 04:46 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 2809
Some (not all) servers support a command called /userip which will return the IP of the nickname. However, what he is saying doesn't even make sense really. And if he did do it that way then he's stupid considering there are freely available webpages that allow you to look up an IP and see not only what country it is in, the ISP that owns it, their address, phone number, etc.

Top
#38425 - 26/07/03 04:49 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
Thedude Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 18/01/03
Posts: 41
Loc: Kristiansand, Norway
Well he probably uses something like this:
on *:join:#:{
set %coun $readini(country.ini, $gettok($address,$findtok($address,46),46), country)
if (%coun != $null) echo $nick is from %coun
}

In country.ini there's lines like this:
[no]
country=Norway
[uk]
country=United Kingdom


Edited by Thedude (26/07/03 04:51 PM)

Top
#38426 - 26/07/03 04:51 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 2809
Except he said IP address, not hostname.

Top
#38427 - 26/07/03 04:53 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
Thedude Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 18/01/03
Posts: 41
Loc: Kristiansand, Norway
Yeah but he probably lied or something then :P

Top
#38428 - 26/07/03 04:59 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
Collective Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 10/12/02
Posts: 3138
Loc: London, UK
If you know how to use sockets and the HTTP protocol you can use a website like this, or the RIPE database, etc.

Top
#38429 - 26/07/03 09:29 PM Re: Country Locator - Part 2
tomalak16 Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 24/12/02
Posts: 109
Loc: UK
Sounds to me like he called cmd.exe, ran tracert into a file, then read the file. additionally, you can easily enough do a whois lookup on any ip to find all sorts of details. usually it's the ISP (ie. owner) and their address etc.
_________________________
<Ingo> I can't uninstall it, there seems to be some kind of "Uninstall Shield"

Top