mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Page 5 of 14 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 14 >
Topic Options
#37505 - 26/04/05 11:58 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
1Osiris Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 26/04/05
Posts: 2
I recently just got a new computer. I use to use mIRC (SysReset 2.53) fine and have no problems but ever since I got the new computer I have been getting 10053 errors. This seems to occur a short while after I start a DCC send/receive, I can stay connected as long as I want if DCC doesn't start. When this error occurs, it seems my entire connection to the internet dies. I can't even access the router settings once this error has occured (I have to use the laptop, which remains connected, to the internet and router) This problem is fixed as soon as the computer reboots. But as soon as I try to do anything on mIRC with DCC it wll have a 10053 error. Any suggestions? I actually read through the entire thread and tried the suggestions there already..

Top
#37506 - 27/04/05 03:46 AM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
1Osiris Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 26/04/05
Posts: 2
It also seems that my router reports "SYN Flood Attack Detect", i don't exactly know what this means... or if it even has anything to do with this error. But it does seem to show up every time irc is on.

Top
#37507 - 02/05/05 09:12 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
SpiFli Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 02/05/05
Posts: 3
This problem is defnetly Port based:
why ?
I myself had this problem ages ago but then i got my bnc (bnc on port 40000) now when this morning my bnc got disconected i saw the 10053 error after a few houres again.

When I try to connect to a diffrent server with default ports (6667-6669 , like quakenet where i'm at) he gives me the 10053 error , on the other hand when i connect to a server with port other then 6667-6669 like irc.insiderz.de (6661)
I get connected instantly (same with my bnc on port 40000)

Don't ask me howcome.

specs:
Internet: cable
Amd64 athlon 3000+
512 mb ram
SP2 win XP had it with SP1 to

EDIT:

I FOUND A SOLUTION !
I went to the www.quakenet.org site and looked for a quakenet server with a difrent server port then 6667-6669
AND got connected IMMEDIATLY !


Edited by SpiFli (02/05/05 09:25 PM)

Top
#37508 - 07/05/05 05:06 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
paul7 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser

Registered: 29/03/05
Posts: 6
dont use port 6667 to connect to a network. Most networks have a range of ports, usually within 6660-6669,7000-7001 and you can specify a port with /server some.server.here:7000

connect to the server's ip instead of domain (ie, /server 123.456.789.123 instead of /server some.domain.here)


so lets say i want to connect to 2 networks in chatchanel and grnet through perform.What should i put in chatchannel perform to connect to grnet too? /server darkness.irc.gr:7000(grnet server) or /server grnets ip??

Pls tell me which way u recommend me in order to connect to grnet and how can i see grne's ip?

Top
#37509 - 08/05/05 01:28 AM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
DV8 Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 14/10/03
Posts: 132
Loc: Under your bed!
Quote:
dont use port 6667 to connect to a network. Most networks have a range of ports, usually within 6660-6669,7000-7001 and you can specify a port with /server some.server.here:7000

connect to the server's ip instead of domain (ie, /server 123.456.789.123 instead of /server some.domain.here)


so lets say i want to connect to 2 networks in chatchanel and grnet through perform.What should i put in chatchannel perform to connect to grnet too? /server darkness.irc.gr:7000(grnet server) or /server grnets ip??

Pls tell me which way u recommend me in order to connect to grnet and how can i see grne's ip?


To find out a server's IP, type /dns irc.whatever.net

Top
#37510 - 08/05/05 12:58 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
paul7 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser

Registered: 29/03/05
Posts: 6
yea but u didnt answer me what to put in the perform

/server some.server.here:7000

or /server and the ip???

Pls let me know

Top
#37511 - 08/05/05 01:49 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Mentality Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 01/06/03
Posts: 5024
Loc: London, England
Either may work, if you want to connect via the IP then you can use /server ip.goes.here. If you want to connect to the name server, /server irc.server.name.

Regards,
_________________________
Mentality/Chris

Top
#37512 - 08/05/05 04:09 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
paul7 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser

Registered: 29/03/05
Posts: 6
sth else.Is there going to be in the future a new version of mirc which will fix this problem?

Top
#37513 - 08/05/05 04:16 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
DV8 Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 14/10/03
Posts: 132
Loc: Under your bed!
Like Mentality said, either method will work. Connecting via the IP numbers doesn't give you a more stable connection but it will get you connected to the IRC server a little bit quicker (one or two seconds) because you're bypassing your ISP's DNS server.

Top
#37514 - 08/05/05 04:21 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
paul7 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser

Registered: 29/03/05
Posts: 6
ok i got that but i asked:Is there going to be in the future a new mirc version which will fix the problem?

Top
#37515 - 08/05/05 05:38 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
The ports that work have nothing to do with mIRC. Some networks have extra ports they allow. Some use only the default ports. If you have issues on a specific port, then don't use it. Not much else to do. I personally connect fine on any port.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#37516 - 08/05/05 06:13 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Mentality Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 01/06/03
Posts: 5024
Loc: London, England
It's quite possible/probable that it cannot be fixed within mIRC. Bug fixes/features are rarely pre-announced, so nobody can answer that question (except Khaled, who probably won't answer it).

Regards,
_________________________
Mentality/Chris

Top
#37517 - 20/07/05 08:06 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
SuperDre Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 20/07/05
Posts: 1
Loc: helmond.nl
Quote:
Since we have so many threads/posts on this issue, i'm going to condense. Use our search feature, set it to All Forums, expand the date range to ALL, and use 10053 as search term to wade thru all the threads. Note that i'm not including all the various hardware & hiccups things that can cause the occasional 10053 disc.

Many users have been reporting frequent random 10053 disconnect problems during DCC. This seems to be an issue primarily with winXP and occasionally win2k. No one has found a one solution fits all answer, but many have said one or more of the following stopped the problem.

-disable winxp's firewall

-dont use port 6667 to connect to a network. Most networks have a range of ports, usually within 6660-6669,7000-7001 and you can specify a port with /server some.server.here:7000

-dont use "speed patches" that supposedly increase your download speed. (note some of them effect your registry, use speed patch as your search term)

-update your router drivers/firmware. (some have said they needed to use something other than the ones supplied by the manufacturer)

-connect to the server's ip instead of domain (ie, /server 123.456.789.123 instead of /server some.domain.here)

-limit how many networks or other apps you are running

-some have the prob not while dcc sending, but when idle for long periods of time. try creating a channel and using a timer to make a post every so often.

-changing NIC card

-uninstall MSN IM

-check for patches for everything from windows to the equipment you have.

-ONLY for the advanced user: look into default MTU registry values with relation to the router you use.

-some ppl have reported this happening with scripts that appear to have compatibility issues, so try with a clean copy of mIRC to check



I'll add another.. if you get this error every time you connect to a server then also check if you have the latest McAfee installed, there is a 'new' option which by default blocks port 25 and all IRC ports.. yeah, did cost me only about 1 week to figure this out..
* Open Virusscan console (rightclick icon in systray and select virusscan console)
* Open Acces Protection
* Uncheck Prevent IRC communication

So there are propably more antivirus programs which has this new feature.. mad

Top
#37518 - 20/07/05 08:46 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
Good to know. I have the latest McAfee, but haven't had issues. Most likely it just didn't turn on by default since my updates are all automatic updates.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#37519 - 29/08/05 04:31 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
JoshD Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 29/08/05
Posts: 3
I have this error too. My case is a little different too. It seems that all of the computers on the campus server that I am on have the same thing too. I can't connect to any server through mIRC. When I open it up, it tries to auto connect and brings up the "[10053] Software caused connection abort." If anyone has any idea of what this could be that would be great.

I'm running Xp through a campus connection, It works fine on my laptop when I'm at home, but when I'm on campus I can't connect. Any help would be greatly welcomed, I miss talking on mIRC.

Top
#37520 - 29/08/05 04:40 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
Contact your college's IT/IS department and see if they are preventing IRC connections. If they are, you can ask them if they can allow connection to IRC... but they probably won't.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#37521 - 29/08/05 04:45 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
JoshD Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 29/08/05
Posts: 3
Yeah, I'm pretty surt they wont, Is there an easy way around it?

Top
#37522 - 29/08/05 04:54 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
I'm sorry, but we can't help you to bypass your college's security settings.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#37523 - 29/08/05 04:57 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
JoshD Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 29/08/05
Posts: 3
Sorry, I just was wondering if there was a known port issues with most security devices or something like that.

Top
#37524 - 29/08/05 05:21 PM Re: 10053 error, software caused connection abort
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: MA, USA
It's not a matter of a port "issue" if they are blocking IRC. Your best option is really to ask them if they are blocking IRC connections. If they say they aren't, then we would know there's another problem.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
Page 5 of 14 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 14 >